News Release

U.S. Department of Labor Recovers $429,005 in Back Wages For Georgia Department of Corrections Officers

FORSYTH, GA – The Georgia Department of Corrections has paid $429,005 in back wages to 1,257 employees after a U.S. Department of Labor Wage and Hour Division (WHD) investigation uncovered overtime violations of the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) at more than 40 facilities statewide.

WHD investigators found that the Georgia Department of Corrections failed to pay employees who attended meetings and training for their time spent in those activities. It also failed to pay employees who worked beyond their assigned shifts to ensure coverage when other employees were late for work. In both scenarios, those unpaid hours resulted in overtime violations when employees worked more than 40 hours in a workweek.

Investigators also determined that the Georgia department failed to pay for any overtime hours worked in excess of 12 hours per pay period. WHD also found that the employer paid out any accrued compensatory time only bi-annually in May and December. This practice resulted in overtime violations when corrections employees left the job before either of these dates, and the state failed to pay out any compensatory time accrued since the previous payout.

"Georgia Department of Corrections' employees perform a difficult, dangerous, and indispensable job that is unquestionably vital to the safety of the community," said Wage and Hour Division District Director Eric Williams, in Atlanta, Georgia. "Their receipt of the wages they are entitled to under the law is imperative. We encourage all employers to make use of the many tools we offer to learn about their responsibilities and comply with the law."

For a complete list of the affected facilities, see the chart that follows this news release.

For more information about the FLSA and other laws enforced by the Wage and Hour Division, contact the toll-free helpline at 866-4US-WAGE (487-9243). Employers who discover overtime or minimum wage violations may self-report and resolve those violations without litigation through the PAID program. Information is also available at https://www.dol.gov/whd.

# # #

Corrections Facility

Back Wages

Appling Integrated Treatment Facility

$176.42

Arrendale State Prison

$2,316.24

Augusta State Medical Prison

$21,859.13

Augusta Transitional Center

$364.12

Autry State Prison

$26,632.83

Bainbridge Probation Substance Abuse Treatment Center

$2,711.08

Burruss Correctional Training Center

$1,642.05

Calhoun State Prison

$1,368.30

Class T-81 (Basic Correction Training Class)

$8,627.11

Coastal State Prison

$40,445.30

Coastal Transition Center

$8,667.26

Columbus Transitional Center

$579.97

Dodge State Prison

$15,718.09

Dooly State Prison

$4,135.14

Emanuel Probation Detention Center

$4,104.45

Emanuel Women's Facility

$1,713.40

Georgia Diagnostic and Classification State Prison

$4,137.65

Georgia State Prison

$24,736.74

Hancock State Prison

$1,256.22

Hays State Prison

$10,843.08

Johnson State Prison

$15,810.61

Lee State Prison

$3,944.77

Long State Prison

$4,135.91

Macon State Prison

$435.55

McEver Probation Detention Center

$129.00

Montgomery State Prison

$3,183.00

Paulding Probation Detention Center

$5,665.74

Phillips State Prison

$16,976.20

Pulaski State Prison

$6,538.55

Robert L. Patten Probation Detention Center

$807.00

Rogers State Prison

$20,772.45

Smith State Prison

$75,872.52

Telfair State Prison

$7,235.55

Treutlen Probation Detention Center

$2,007.01

Valdosta State Prison

$18,438.24

Valdosta Transitional Center

$83.87

Walker State Prison

$729.44

Ware State Prison

$40,382.29

Washington State Prison

$2,045.76

West Central Integrated Treatment Facility

$988.89

Whitworth Women's Facility

$1,966.95

Wilcox State Prison

$14,505.17

Women's Probation Detention Center and Smith Transition Center

$4,316.12

Agency
Wage and Hour Division
Date
September 26, 2018
Release Number
18-1478-ATL
Contact: Eric R. Lucero
Phone Number
Contact: Michael D'Aquino