State Wage Interchange System (SWIS)


The State Wage Interchange System (SWIS) was developed to facilitate the interstate exchange of Wage Data between participating state agencies for the purpose of assessing and reporting on state and local performance for the programs authorized under WIOA, under other statutory provisions authorizing programs identified as one-stop partners under WIOA, and for other purposes allowed under the SWIS Data Sharing Agreement.


The SWIS Agreement addresses the requirements of the unemployment compensation confidentiality regulations, the confidentiality requirements of the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) for education records, and Vocational Rehabilitation (VR) program regulations for VR participant records. To aid your review of the SWIS Agreement, please read the background document that provides information and technical assistance developed by the U.S. Departments of Labor and Education related to the purpose, applicability, and content of the SWIS Agreement.


Should you have questions or require more information, State workforce agencies may email; State adult education agencies may email; and State VR agencies may email


Click on the links below to access the following resources: 

State Parties to the SWIS Agreement

SWIS Amendments

SWIS Data Sharing Agreement 

The SWIS Data Sharing Agreement was enacted on June 27, 2019. Recent amendments have resulted in changes to the SWIS Agreement.

YearDocument HistoryExplanation
2019SWIS AgreementEstablishment
2023First Agreement to Amend SWISFirst Agreement between the parties to amend the SWIS Agreement. Adds five (5) amendments to the SWIS Agreement. A state may begin to use the amended terms when all parties within the state have signed the Agreement and ETA has notified the state that they may begin implementation.
2023Restated SWIS AgreementUnofficial version that incorporates the Amended terms from the First Agreement to Amend SWIS.
2024Agreement to Renew the SWIS AgreementMakes effective the renewal term of five (5) years ending on June 26, 2029.