News Release

U.S. Department of Labor Extends Deadline for Excellence in Disability Inclusion Awards Submissions

WASHINGTON, DC – The U.S. Department of Labor has extended the application submission deadline for its Excellence in Disability Inclusion (EDI) Awards to November 1. Employers who have already submitted an application may update it if desired.

The EDI Awards will recognize federal contractors who excel in this regard through two levels of recognition:

  • Up to four (two large and two small) federal contractors will receive a "Gold Award" and three-year moratorium on the Department's Office of Federal Contract Compliance Programs (OFCCP) compliance evaluations. These awardees will also participate in a post-award "Year of Engagement" program to help educate other federal contractors on best practices for disability inclusion.
  • Up to 20 additional federal contractors will receive recognition as "Pacesetters." These awardees will not receive a moratorium on OFCCP compliance evaluations.  

The EDI Awards are sponsored jointly by OFCCP and the Department's Office of Disability Employment Policy. For more information, including eligibility criteria, see

Federal contractors covered under Section 503 of the Rehabilitation Act have the responsibility to treat all qualified job applicants and workers equally and fairly, without regard to disability. Federal contractors also have the responsibility to take proactive steps to recruit, hire, retain, and advance qualified applicants with disabilities under Section 503 of the Rehabilitation Act.

The mission of the Department of Labor is to foster, promote, and develop the welfare of the wage earners, job seekers, and retirees of the United States; improve working conditions; advance opportunities for profitable employment; and assure work-related benefits and rights.

Office of Disability Employment Policy
September 4, 2019
Release Number
Contact: Bennett Gamble
Share This