News Brief

US Department of Labor recovers $92K in back wages, damages from Florida outdoor furniture manufacturer that denied overtime to piece-rate workers

Employer:      Alumatech Furniture Manufacturing Inc. 

6063 17th St. 

East Bradenton, FL 34203

Investigation findings: U.S. Department of Labor investigators found a Florida furniture manufacturer did not pay eight employees overtime rates as required for hours over 40 in a workweek, a violation of the Fair Labor Standards Act. Specifically, the employer failed to pay overtime to piece-rate and commission-based workers when required.  

Back wages and liquidated damages recovered:   $92,562 for the affected workers.

Civil money penalties:   $8,328 assessed given the employer’s repeat violations.

Quote: “The U.S. Department of Labor is committed to ensuring workers get every dollar they earned,” said Wage and Hour Division District Director Nicolas Ratmiroff in Tampa, Florida. “Employers who choose to pay employees by piece or hour must still pay non-exempt employees the required overtime rate for hours over 40 in a workweek. Employers should contact the Wage and Hour Division to ensure their pay practices comply with the law. Faulty pay practices can lead to sizeable wage and damage recoveries and possibly penalties, all of which makes for a very costly lesson.”

Background: Alumatech Furniture Manufacturing Inc. manufactures, sells and repairs outdoor furniture at its Bradenton factory. The company began operations in 1988 and today employs about 55 workers. In a previous investigation, the division found Alumatech failed to pay overtime premiums to piece-rate workers. A review of pay records from September 2016 through September 2018 led to the recovery of more than $8,000 in back wages and an assessment of $734 in civil money penalties to resolve its violations.

Employers and workers alike can contact the Wage and Hour Division confidentially with questions at its toll-free number, 1-866-4-US-WAGE – regardless of where they are from – and the department can speak with callers in more than 200 languages. Learn more about the Wage and Hour Division, including a fact sheet on Fair Labor Standards Act wage laws overtime requirements. Workers and employers can help track hours worked and pay by downloading the department’s Android timesheet app for free, which is available in English and Spanish. 

Wage and Hour Division
April 29, 2024
Release Number
Media Contact: Erika Ruthman
Media Contact: Eric R. Lucero
Phone Number
Share This