Please note: As of January 20, 2021, information in some news releases may be out of date or not reflect current policies.
U.S. Department of Labor Investigation Uncovers Wage and Child Labor Violations at Mississippi Slaughterhouse
SUMMIT, MS – Kased Brothers Halal Meat Inc. – a slaughterhouse based in Summit, Mississippi – paid $14,768 in back wages to 12 employees after a U.S. Department of Labor Wage and Hour Division (WHD) investigation found the company violated minimum wage, overtime, and recordkeeping provisions of the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). The company was assessed and paid a civil penalty of $8,368 for child labor violations.
WHD determined Kased Brothers Halal Meat Inc. inaccurately classified employees as independent contractors and paid them a variety of piece rates and flat rates per day without regard to the number of hours they worked. Some employees were paid hourly. Employees paid piece rates or daily rates were paid in violation of minimum wage requirements when those rates failed to cover the federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour. Overtime violations resulted when the employer failed to pay time-and-one-half to any employees working more than 40 hours in a work week. The company was cited for not displaying required posters and failing to keep records of the number of hours employees worked.
Additionally, WHD found that Kased Brothers Halal Meat Inc. employed three minors to work in the slaughter area, washing and cleaning animal carcasses after a slaughter, a violation of FLSA child labor requirements.
"The Department of Labor is committed to ensuring employees receive all wages they have rightfully earned, and enforcing child labor laws to strike a balance between providing meaningful work experiences for young people and keeping them safe on the job," said Wage and Hour Division District Director Audrey Hall, in Jackson, Mississippi. "We encourage all employers to review employment obligations and contact the Wage and Hour Division for compliance assistance. We remain committed to providing employers the tools they need to understand their responsibilities."
Employers who discover overtime or minimum wage violations may self-report and resolve those violations without litigation through the PAID program. For more information about the FLSA, child labor, and other laws enforced by the Wage and Hour Division, contact the Division's toll-free helpline at 866-4US-WAGE (487-9243). Information is also available at https://www.dol.gov/whd/ including a search tool to use if you think you may be owed back wages collected by WHD.