U.S. Department of Labor Investigation Results in McDonalds’ Franchisee Paying Penalties to Resolve Child Labor Violations Found at 11 New Jersey Locations
CENTRAL VALLEY, NY – After an investigation by the U.S. Department of Labor’s Wage and Hour Division (WHD), McDonalds’ franchisee S&P Enterprises Inc. has paid $8,829 in penalties to resolve child labor violations in 11 northern New Jersey locations.
WHD’s Northern New Jersey District Office determined that S&P Enterprises Inc., based in Central Valley, New York, violated the requirements of the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) that limit the number of hours and times of day that employees under 16 years of age may legally work while school is in session. Owner and operator of 11 McDonalds restaurants in Bergen, Morris, Passaic, and Union counties, S&P Enterprises Inc. employed 16 minors, ages 14 and 15. The identified minors worked after 7:00 p.m. during the school year, more than 3 hours on a school day, more than 8 hours on a non-school day, and/or more than 18 hours during a school week, exceeding the limits set by law.
“Child labor laws protect the educational opportunities of minors, and ensure that their employment does not come at the expense of their health or well-being,” said John Warner, WHD Northern New Jersey District Director. “This case demonstrates how child labor violations can occur when front-line supervisors do not comply with the law’s requirements, and fail to monitor minor employees’ hours. The Department of Labor offers a variety of tools for employers to ensure that staff is trained and everyone is onboard to keep young workers protected.”
The FLSA permits youth ages 14 and 15 to work between the hours of 7:00 a.m. and 7:00 p.m. (until 9:00 p.m. from June 1 to Labor Day); up to 3 hours on a school day, including Fridays, and up to 18 hours in a school week. During non-school days, youth ages 14 and 15 can work up to 8 hours per day and up to 40 hours during non-school weeks.
Employees and employers can get more information about federal wage laws administered by the Division by calling the agency’s toll-free helpline at 866-4US-WAGE (487-9243). Employees can also file complaints confidentially. More information also is available online at https://www.dol.gov/whd.