Please note: As of January 20, 2021, information in some news releases may be out of date or not reflect current policies.

News Release

U.S. Department of Labor Investigation Finds North Carolina McDonald’s Franchisee Violated Federal Child Labor Law

MOUNT HOLLY, NC – Stanton Enterprise Inc. – a McDonald’s franchisee in Mount Holly, North Carolina – has paid a civil penalty of $5,517 following a U.S. Department of Labor Wage and Hour Division (WHD) investigation that found the fast-food restaurant violated the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) child labor requirements after a 15-year-old employee suffered a burn to her arm.

WHD investigators determined Stanton Enterprise Inc. violated child labor requirements when the employer exposed a 15-year-old minor to a hazardous occupation by allowing the employee to operate an electric deep fryer without an automatic function to lower and raise baskets into and out of the hot oil. Investigators also found Stanton Enterprise Inc. allowed minors to work outside of the hours allowed by law, which limit 14- and 15-year-old employees to work no more than 3 hours on a school day, work no more than 18 hours in a school week, work no more than 8 hours on a non-school day, or work no more than 40 hours in a non-school week. Work shifts for those minors cannot begin before 7:00 a.m., nor end after 7:00 p.m., except from June 1 through Labor Day, when evening hours extend to 9 p.m.

Stanton Enterprise Inc. also failed to display legally required postings for the Employee Polygraph Protection Act and the Family & Medical Leave Act.

“Child labor laws exist to strike a balance between providing meaningful work experience for young people and keeping them safe on the job,” said Wage and Hour Division District Director Richard Blaylock, in Raleigh, North Carolina. “Incidents like this one should serve to remind employers of the importance of not permitting employees under the age of 18 to participate in prohibited work. We encourage all employers to review their obligations and to contact the Wage and Hour Division for compliance assistance.”

For more information about the FLSA, child labor, and other laws enforced by the Wage and Hour Division, contact the Division’s toll-free helpline at 866-4US-WAGE (487-9243). Information is also available at including a search tool to use if you think you may be owed back wages collected by WHD.

Wage and Hour Division
December 19, 2018
Release Number
Media Contact: Eric R. Lucero
Phone Number
Media Contact: Michael D'Aquino