Please note: As of January 20, 2021, information in some news releases may be out of date or not reflect current policies.

News Release

U.S. Department of Labor Investigation Results in Three New England Resorts Correcting Child Labor Violations and Paying Penalty

MANCHESTER, N.H.  – Following an investigation by the U.S. Department of Labor’s Wage and Hour Division (WHD), The Fairbank Group LLC will implement extensive corrective measures to resolve violations of the child labor requirements of the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and ensure future compliance at its three recreational resorts. The company has also paid a $21,582 penalty. 

WHD investigators found that the three resorts – Jiminy Peak Mountain Resort in Hancock, Massachusetts; Cranmore Mountain Resort in North Conway, New Hampshire; and Bromley Mountain Ski Resort in Peru, Vermont - employed a total of 44 minors, ages 14 or 15, outside of the hours restrictions for that age group required by the FLSA’s child labor provisions. Some youths worked more than 8 hours on non-school days, past 7 p.m. during the school year, or more than 3 hours on school days, while some worked more than 18 hours during a school week, all in excess of what the law allows.

As part of a compliance agreement with WHD, the resorts will train supervisors and instruct minors on child labor requirements, use time clock software to ensure minors’ work hours stay within the limits prescribed by the law, and help supervisors better identify minors by providing them with special nametags or uniform labels. They will also appoint compliance directors to oversee minors’ employment activity at each resort.

“This agreement demonstrates the Fairbank Group’s commitment to provide a safe and healthy on-the-job experience for the hundreds of young workers employed at its resorts,” said Wage and Hour Division Northern New England District Director Daniel Cronin.

“We encourage employers to contact the Wage and Hour Division for assistance and to make use of the many tools we provide to help them understand the child labor and others laws and avoid violations,” said Wage and Hour Division District Director Carlos Matos, in Boston.

WHD’s Northern New England District Office in Manchester, New Hampshire, and its Boston District Office conducted the investigation.

For more information about the FLSA, its child labor requirements, and other laws enforced by the Wage and Hour Division, contact the Division’s toll-free helpline at 866-4US-WAGE (487-9243). Information is also available at including a search tool for workers who may be owed back wages collected by the Division.

Office of the Solicitor
August 16, 2018
Release Number
Media Contact: Ted Fitzgerald
Media Contact: James C. Lally
Phone Number