Please note: As of January 20, 2021, information in some news releases may be out of date or not reflect current policies.

News Release

Betty Jean Hall Retires as Chair of U.S. Department of Labor’s Benefits Review Board

Board Member Judith S. Boggs Reassigned to Chair

WASHINGTON, DC – The U.S. Department of Labor announced that Judith S. Boggs has been assigned to chair the Department's Benefits Review Board. Boggs assignment comes upon the departure of Betty Jean Hall, who retired as board chair on March 31, 2019. Prior to this appointment, Boggs served as a member of the Benefits Review Board (BRB) since 2004, and on the Administrative Review Board from 2002 to 2004.

"I commend Betty Jean Hall for her 25 years of service at the BRB, 10 of which she served as board chair. This is testament to Ms. Hall's commitment to doing right by workers and taxpayers," said Secretary of Labor Alexander Acosta. "The work of the board is in good hands as Judith S. Boggs brings 15 years of experience as a board member to the board chair position."

Congress created the Benefits Review Board in 1972 to review and issue decisions on appeals of worker's compensation claims arising under the Longshore and Harbor Worker's Compensation Act and the Black Lung Benefits amendments to the Federal Coal Mine Health and Safety Act of 1969. The Board consists of five members appointed by the U.S. Secretary of Labor, one of whom is designated as chair and Chief Administrative Appeals Judge.

The Department will recruit a new member to fill the vacancy created by Hall's retirement.

Office of the Secretary
April 9, 2019
Release Number
Media Contact: Megan Sweeney
Phone Number
Share This