News Release

US Department of Labor awards more than $189M to support workforce agencies’ efforts to help unemployed workers find good jobs

49 states, three territories to receive funding

WASHINGTON – The U.S. Department of Labor has awarded more than $189 million to workforce agencies in 49 states, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands and the District of Columbia to operate their Reemployment Services and Eligibility Assessments programs. This award is a $40 million increase over the previous year. Funding will strengthen states’ unemployment insurance programs and provide customized workforce services to support individuals’ efforts to find employment through informed job searches.

RESEA is an evidence-based program to help individuals who are receiving unemployment benefits return to work more quickly by providing services such as individual assessments, reemployment services, referrals to job opportunities and recruiting events, and information about other available workforce programs, training opportunities and services. The program is critical to states’ broader workforce development strategies and is undergoing expansions to promote greater program equity and reach a larger share of individuals experiencing unemployment.

“Reemployment Services and Eligibility Assessments programs provide essential work search assistance to individuals in need while also getting people back to work faster in higher quality jobs,” said Acting Assistant Secretary for Employment and Training Angela Hanks. “These funds will help states grow their RESEA programs to bring more services to more individuals in need and help states prepare and respond to current and future labor market changes.”

At the beginning of the coronavirus pandemic, many states modified RESEA programs to increase the use of virtual and remote technologies. A vast majority of states intend to broaden RESEA availability by combining online and in-person services. States and the department are currently studying RESEA programs, including innovations implemented in response to the pandemic, through an assortment of research and evaluation projects that will provide information on what reemployment services and strategies are most effective at supporting unemployed individuals quickly return to good jobs.

Learn more about RESEA and individualized reemployment services.  

Editor’s Note:  A listing of award recipients and amounts follows this release.


Fiscal Year 2022 Reemployment Services and Eligibility Assessments Base Funding Awards



Alabama Department of Labor


Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce


Arizona Department of Economic Security


Arkansas Department of Labor


California Employment Development Department


Colorado Department of Labor and Employment


Connecticut Department of Labor


Delaware Division of Unemployment Insurance


District of Columbia Department of Employment Services


Florida Workforce Services


Georgia Department of Labor


Hawaii Department of Labor and Industrial Relations


Idaho Department of Labor


Illinois Department of Labor


Indiana Department of Workforce Development


Iowa Workforce Development


Kansas Department of Labor


Kentucky Labor Cabinet


Louisiana Workforce Commission


Maine Bureau of Unemployment Compensation


Maryland Department of Labor


Massachusetts Department of Unemployment Assistance


Michigan Department of Labor and Economic Opportunity


Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development


Mississippi Department of Employment Security


Missouri Division of Employment Security


Montana Department of Labor


Nebraska Department of Labor


Nevada Department of Employment Training and Rehabilitation


New Hampshire Department of Employment Security


New Jersey Department of Labor


New Mexico Department of Workforce Solutions


New York State Department of Labor


North Carolina Department of Commerce


Ohio Office of Workforce Development


Oklahoma Employment Security Commission


Oregon Employment Department


Pennsylvania Department of Labor and Industry


Puerto Rico Department of Labor and Human Resources


Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training


South Carolina Department of Employment and Workforce


South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation


Tennessee Department of Labor


Texas Workforce Commission


Utah Department of Workforce Services


Vermont Department of Labor


Virgin Islands Department of Labor


Virginia Department of Labor


Washington Department of Labor


Workforce West Virginia


Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development


Wyoming Department of Workforce Services





Employment and Training Administration
April 8, 2022
Release Number
Media Contact: Arjun Singh
Phone Number
Share This