Please note: As of January 20, 2021, information in some news releases may be out of date or not reflect current policies.

News Release

US secretary of labor announces nearly $40 million in grants to continue support for dislocated workers in Michigan

DETROIT – During a visit to Macomb Community College in Detroit, Secretary of Labor Hilda L. Solis today announced the release of $20,922,153 in Trade Adjustment Assistance reserve funds to the state of Michigan. She also announced three Regional Economic Impact National Emergency Grants totaling $19,016,800. The grants will serve to provide continued services for workers affected by documented layoffs from multiple companies in three defined regional economies throughout the state.

"The citizens of Michigan continue to need our help," said Secretary Solis. "Through these numerous grants, we will provide workers statewide with the heightened training, resources and support that they need to acquire good jobs in the future."

Trade Adjustment Assistance reserve funds

These funds will assist an estimated 9,471 trade-impacted workers across the state in gaining additional job training. Trade Adjustment Assistance is provided by the U.S. Department of Labor to states and specifically designed to assist workers who have experienced job loss due to the impact of foreign trade by providing an array of benefits.

Regional Economic Impact National Emergency Grants

These grants will allow the state to continue re-employment services to about 8,632 participants. They also provide the state with the flexibility to serve workers affected by future layoffs occurring within these defined regional economies during the 12-month period following the initial awards.

Workers from the three regions described below who previously worked for declining industries, including the automotive manufacturing sector, construction and retail trade, may qualify to receive services. The first regional economy, known as Southeast Michigan, is comprised of seven counties: Livingston, Macomb, Monroe, Oakland, St. Clair, Washtenaw and Wayne (including the city of Detroit). The second regional economy, known as Mid-Michigan, is comprised of 12 counties: Bay, Clinton, Eaton, Genesee (including the city of Flint), Huron, Ingham, Lapeer, Midland, Saginaw, Sanilac, Shiawassee and Tuscola counties. The final region, known as West Michigan, is comprised of eight counties in western Michigan: Allegan, Berrien, Cass, Kent (including the city of Grand Rapids), Muskegon, Oceana, Ottawa and Van Buren counties.

On Sept. 29, 2009, three Regional Economic Impact grants were awarded totaling $38,033,600, with half of that amount – $19,016,800 – released initially. The increments announced today represent the remaining balance of the original award.

These grants will be funded by resources made available for National Emergency Grants under the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009. National Emergency Grants are part of the secretary of labor's discretionary fund and are awarded based on a state's ability to meet specific guidelines. For more information, visit

Employment and Training Administration
June 17, 2010
Release Number