Please note: As of January 20, 2021, information in some news releases may be out of date or not reflect current policies.

News Release

EBSA Press Release: Terms of Five Advisory Council Members to Expire [08/27/1996]

Archived News Release — Caution: Information may be out of date.

For more information call: 202/219-8921

The terms of five members of the Advisory Council on Employee Welfare and Pension Benefit Plans will expire on Nov. 14, 1996. Groups represented by the five upcoming vacancies are: employee organizations (multiemployer plans), investment management, corporate trust, employers, and the general public (pensioners).

Persons or organizations wishing to recommend individuals for a three-year appointment to the ERISA Advisory Council for any of these groups or fields may submit recommendations to Sharon Morrissey, acting executive secretary, ERISA Advisory Council, U.S. Department of Labor, 200 Constitution Ave., N.W., Suite N-5677, Washington, D.C. 20210. Recommendations must be mailed or delivered on or before Oct. 1, 1996.

Recommendations may be in the form of a letter, resolution or petition signed by the person making the recommendation, or if made by an organization, by an authorized representative of the organization.

Each recommendation should include the candidate's name, occupation or position, telephone number and address, with a brief description of the candidate's qualifications, the group or field that he or she would represent for the purposes of Sec. 512 of ERISA, political party affiliation, and whether the candidate is available and would accept. Members must be qualified to appraise programs instituted under ERISA.

A bipartisan group appointed by the Secretary of Labor, the Advisory Council advises and makes recommendations to the Secretary on the administration of the Employee Retirement Income Security Act (ERISA), which provides protections for participants and beneficiaries covered by private pension and benefit plans.

Representing a wide range of interests in the employee benefit area, the council consists of 15 members including three representatives of employee organizations; three representatives of employers; three from the general public and one from each of five fields of the insurance industry: corporate trust, actuarial counseling, investment counseling, investment management and accounting.

Archived News Release — Caution: Information may be out of date.

Employee Benefits Security Administration
August 27, 1996
Release Number