Consolidated State Minimum Wage Update Table1
(Effective Date: 01/01/2024)
Greater than federal MWEquals federal MW of $7.25No state MW or state MW is lower than $7.25.
Employers covered by the FLSA must pay the federal MW of $7.25.
AR $11.00 GA
AZ $14.35IALA
CA $16.00IDMS
CO $14.42INSC
CT $15.69KSTN
DC $17.00KYWY
DE $13.25NCAS2
FL $12.00ND 
HI $14.00NH 
IL $14.00OK 
MA $15.00PA 
MD $15.00TX 
ME $14.15UT 
MI $10.33WI 
MN $10.85 or $8.853  
MO $12.30  
MT $10.30 or $4.004  
NE $12.00  
NJ $15.13 or $13.735  
NM $12.00  
NV $11.25 or $10.256  
NY $16.00 or $15.007  
OH $10.45 or $7.008  
OR $15.45 or $14.20 or $13.209  
PR $9.50  
RI $14.00  
SD $11.20  
VA $12.00  
VT $13.67  
WA $16.28  
WV $8.75  
VI $10.50  
GU $9.25  
30 States + DC, GU, PR & VI13 States + CNMI7 States + AS



Like the federal wage and hour law, State law often exempts particular occupations or industries from the minimum labor standard generally applied to covered employment. Some states also set subminimum rates for minors and/or students or exempt them from coverage, or have a training wage for new hires. Additionally, some local governments set minimum wage rates higher than their respective state minimum wage. Such differential provisions are not identified in this table. Users are encouraged to consult the laws of particular States in determining whether the State's minimum wage applies to a particular employment. This information often may be found at the websites maintained by State labor departments. Links to these websites are available at

American Samoa has special minimum wage rates.

The minimum wage for small employers (enterprises with annual revenues of less than $500,000 per year) in Minnesota is $8.85 per year.

A Montana business not covered by the federal Fair Labor Standards Act whose gross annual sales are $110,000 or less may pay $4.00 per hour.

The minimum wage for seasonal and small employers who employ fewer than 6 people in New Jersey is $13.73 per hour.

In Nevada, the minimum wage is $11.25 per hour for employees not offered qualifying health insurance by their employer and $10.25 per hour for employees offered qualifying health insurance by their employer.

The minimum wage in New York City, Nassau County, Suffolk County, and Westchester County is $16.00 per hour. The minimum wage in the remainder of the state is $15.00 per hour.&

Ohio employers with annual gross receipts under $385,000 must pay no less than $7.25 per hour.

The standard minimum wage in Oregon is $14.20 per hour. The minimum wage in the Portland metro area is $15.45 per hour and the minimum wage in nonurban counties is $13.20 per hour.


Additional Minimum Wage Information

  • The state minimum wage rate requirements, or lack thereof, are generally controlled by the legislatures within the individual states.
  • Federal minimum wage law supersedes state minimum wage laws where the federal minimum wage is greater than the state minimum wage. In those states where the state minimum wage is greater than the federal minimum wage, the state minimum wage prevails.
  • There are 30 states plus the District of Columbia, Guam, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands with minimum wage rates set higher than the federal minimum wage.
  • There are 13 states plus the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands that have a minimum wage requirement that is the same as the federal minimum wage requirement. The remaining 7 states and American Samoa do not have an established minimum wage requirement or have a minimum wage below the federal minimum wage.
  • The District of Columbia has the highest minimum wage at $17.00/hour. Note: There are multiple states that have scheduled annual adjustments for their minimum wages based on varying formulas. Most of these increases occur around January 1st. Individuals should consult the relevant state labor offices for information on the particular formula used to adjust the state minimum wage.


This document was last revised on January 1, 2024.

The Wage and Hour Division tries to ensure that the information on this page is accurate but individuals should consult the relevant state labor office for official information.