Skip to page content
Wage and Hour Division
Bookmark and Share

Wage and Hour Division (WHD)

Dollar Threshold Amount for Contract Coverage

Dollar Threshold Amount for Contract Coverage Under State Prevailing Wage Laws

January 1, 2018

Historical Tables

Table of Dollar Threshold Amounts for Contract Coverage Under State Prevailing Wage Laws




$ 25,000


$ 1,000 2


$ 400,000 for new construction

$ 100,000 for remodeling


$ 100,000 for new construction

$ 15,000 for alteration, repair, renovation, rehabilitation, demolition, or reconstruction


$ 2,000




None 3




$ 50,000


$ 500,000 and either of the following criteria are met: (1) the contracting public body is a unit of State Government or an instrumentality of the State, and there is any State funding for the project; or (2) the contracting public body is a political subdivision, agency, person, or entity (such as a county), and the State funds 50% or more of the project except for school construction which must be 25% or more State funded.






$ 25,000 where more than one trade is involved

$ 2,500 where a single trade is involved




$ 25,000




$ 250,000

New Jersey

$ 2,000

$ 15,444

$ 50,000 – aggregate cost for maintenance and repair

New Mexico

$ 60,000

New York



$200,000 for new construction 4/

$60,000 for remodeling 4/


$ 50,000


$ 25,000

Rhode Island

$ 1,000


$ 50,000




$ 100,000


None 5/

Washington, DC


West Virginia

None 7/


$100,000 where a multiple-trade project of public works is involved 8

$48,000 where a single trade project of public works is involved

None for local governmental units8


$ 25,000


1/ Twenty-two States do not have prevailing wage laws. These States are Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Utah, Virginia, and West Virginia.

2/ California. Labor Code Section 1771 provides a minimum threshold of over $1,000. Labor Code Section 1771.5 provides a higher threshold of over $25,000 for construction work or over $15,000 for alteration, demolition, repair or maintenance work under the circumstances specified in that section.

3/ Indiana. Indiana repealed its Common Construction Wage Statute in 2015. Prevailing wages that applied to contracts for construction greater than $350,000 awarded before July 1, 2015 are still enforceable. Ind. Code § 5-16-7.1-2.

4/ Ohio. Ohio has distinct thresholds for work that involves roads, streets, alleys, sewers, ditches, and other works connected to road or bridge construction. The threshold for new construction that involves such work is $78,258. The threshold for remodeling that involves such work is $23,447.

Beginning January 1, 1996, and every even-numbered year thereafter, the Ohio director of commerce must adjust all the contract threshold amounts in accord with a formula set by the Ohio Revised Code, Chapter 4115.034.

5/ Washington. A separate law applicable only to State college/university construction provides for a $25,000 threshold amount.

6/ Washington, DC. Government contractors or recipients of government assistance shall pay affiliated employees and subcontractors who perform services under the contracts no less than the current living wage. Effective January 1, 2018, the living wage rate is $14.20 per hour. The living wage requirement applies to all recipients of contracts in the amount of $100,000 or more, and all subcontractors that receive $15,000 or more from the funds received by the recipient from the District of Columbia. D.C. Code §§ 2-220.01-2-220.11.

7/ West Virginia. Effective May 2016, West Virginia’s prevailing wage statute has been repealed, West Virginia Code §21-5A (repealed).

8/ Wisconsin. A multiple-trade project of public works is one in which no single trade accounts for 85 percent or more of the total labor cost of the project. Where a multiple-trade project of public works is involved, a threshold of $234,000 applies to public works projects erected, constructed, repaired, remodeled, or demolished by a private contractor for: (1) a city or village with a population of less than 2,500 or (2) a town.

In 2015, the Wisconsin legislature repealed the state prevailing wage law for local governmental units such as villages, towns, cities, school districts, or sewerage districts effective January 1, 2017, with certain exemptions. Therefore, for new public works projects starting on January 1, 2017, the state prevailing wage law will only apply to state agency and state highway projects. Prevailing wage rates applicable to state agencies will be those issued by the U.S. Department of Labor under the Davis-Bacon Act, 40 U.S.C. 3142. The Wisconsin Department of Administration will enforce the new state agency prevailing wage law (§16.856, Wis. Stats.) and the Wisconsin Department of Transportation will continue to enforce prevailing wage on state highway projects (under a law renumbered as §84.062, Wis. Stats.).

States Without Prevailing Wage Laws

Alabama - repealed in 1980

Arizona - invalidated by 1980 court decision
Repealed in referendum in 1984

Arkansas - repealed in 2017

Colorado - repealed in 1985

Florida - repealed in 1979

Georgia -

Idaho - repealed in 1985

Indiana - repealed in 2015

Iowa -

Kansas - repealed in 1987

Kentucky - repealed in 2017

Louisiana - repealed in 1988

Mississippi -

New Hampshire - repealed in 1985

North Carolina -

North Dakota -

Oklahoma - invalidated by 1995 court decision

South Carolina -

South Dakota -

Utah - repealed in 1981

Virginia -

West Virginia - repealed in 2016

Division of Communications
Wage and Hour Division
U.S. Department of Labor

This document was last revised in January 2018.

The Wage and Hour Division tries to ensure that the information on this page is accurate but individuals should consult the relevant state labor office for official information.