Skip to page content
Office of Workers' Compensation Programs
Bookmark and Share

Division of Energy Employees Occupational Illness Compensation (DEEOIC)

Advisory Board on Toxic Substances and Worker Health

The Secretary of Labor has recently established the Advisory Board on Toxic Substances and Worker Health for Part E of the Energy Employees Occupational Illness Compensation Program Act (EEOICPA) program. The Department of Labor's Office of Workers' Compensation Programs (OWCP) and EEOICPA program provide compensation and medical benefits to nuclear weapons workers who were diagnosed with medical conditions related to exposure to toxic substances at covered nuclear facilities. The Advisory Board is mandated by the National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA) of 2015, which amended the EEOICPA to include Section 3687, creating the Advisory Board. By Executive Order 13699 of June 26, 2015, the President delegated responsibility to establish and maintain the Advisory Board to the Secretary of Labor. The Board reports to the Secretary of Labor.

The Advisory Board on Toxic Substances and Worker Health will advise the Secretary of Labor with respect to technical aspects of the EEOICPA program:

  • the site exposure matrices of the Department of Labor;
  • medical guidance for claims examiners for claims under this subtitle with respect to the weighing of the medical evidence of claimants;
  • evidentiary requirements for claims under subtitle B related to lung disease; and
  • the work of industrial hygienists and staff physicians and consulting physicians of the Department and reports of such hygienists and physicians to ensure quality, objectivity, and consistency.

The Advisory Board's Charter is posted here. By Charter, the Advisory Board must meet at least twice per year.

Per Section 3687(i), as amended in 2018, the Advisory Board shall terminate on December 19, 2024 (10 years after enactment of the legislation mandating the establishment of the Board).



Scientific Community:
John M. Dement, Ph.D, CIH, Duke University Medical Center
George Friedman-Jimenez, MD, Dr.Ph, Bellevue Hospital Center, NYU School of Medicine
Marek Mikulski, MD, MPH, Ph.D, University of Iowa
Kenneth Z. Silver, D.Sc., S.M., East Tennessee State University

Medical Community:
Manijeh Berenji, MD, MPH, Boston Medical Center
CHAIR: Steven Markowitz, MD. Dr.Ph, Queens College, CUNY School of Public Health
Carrie A. Redlich, MD, MPH, Yale School of Medicine

Claimant community:
Kirk D. Domina, Hanford Atomic Metal Trades Council
Ron Mahs, International Association of Heat and Frost Insulators and Allied Workers, Local Union 46
Duronda M. Pope, United Steelworkers
Calin Tebay, Hanford Beryllium Program

Designated Federal Officer (DFO):
Douglas C. Fitzgerald, Director, Longshore and Harbor Workers’ Compensation, OWCP