Nancy J. Griswold

Nancy J. Griswold serves as Deputy Director of the Office of Workers' Compensation Programs (OWCP). In this role, she provides day-to-day oversight to over 1,300 employees in 33 offices across the country.  Judge Griswold brings over 20 years of leadership and management experience to OWCP, where she is responsible for assisting the Director in   overseeing the implementation of four statutory federal workers’ compensation programs that provide monetary, medical, and return-to-work benefits for work-related injuries and illnesses to federal employees, coal mine workers, nuclear weapons workers, longshore and harbor workers, contractors serving overseas, and certain other designated employee groups.

Prior to joining OWCP, she served for a decade as the Chief Administrative Law Judge for the Office of Medicare Hearings and Appeals (OMHA) at the Department of Health and Human Services. In this capacity, she oversaw the third level review for Medicare appeals and had responsibility for the second largest Administrative Law Judge corps in the federal system. She led OMHA through a time of rapid expansion during which the agency doubled in size, in response to growing receipt levels. During her tenure, she also oversaw the development and implementation of a digital case processing system and standardized business process.  Judge Griswold began her federal career in June of 1995, as an Administrative Law Judge for the Social Security Administration, where she continued to serve in progressively responsible positions until her appointment as Deputy Chief Administrative Law Judge for the Social Security Administration in December 2006.  In that capacity, she assisted the Chief Judge in the management of over 8,000 employees, including 1,200 Administrative Law Judges and 142 hearing offices.

Judge Griswold earned her Bachelor of Arts in English from Louisiana State University in Shreveport and her Juris Doctorate from Baylor University Law School.  She is a member of the Texas, Louisiana, and Colorado State Bar Associations.