Number: 16-05

September 15, 2005

Form LM-2, LM -3 and LM -4 Advisory for Labor Organizations in Areas Affected by Hurricane Katrina

The U.S. Department of Labor’s Office of Labor-Management Standards (OLMS) has issued guidance for unions in the areas affected by Hurricane Katrina regarding the reporting requirements under Section 201 of the Labor-Management Reporting and Disclosure Act of 1959 (LMRDA).

Due to the property damage and destruction inflicted by the storm it may be difficult or impossible for some labor organizations in the affected areas to file timely LM-2, LM-3 or LM-4 reports. Therefore, the Department of Labor will not take any enforcement action relating to labor organizations whose principal offices are located in the affected areas, or those whose financial records necessary for preparing the forms are located in those areas.

Using its enforcement discretion, OLMS will not take action before March 31, 2006 to compel the filing of delinquent Form LM-2, LM-3, and LM-4 reports which were due on or after August 29, 2005. The affected regions covered under this advisory are those counties officially declared disaster areas by President George Bush.

This advisory covers labor organizations whose principal office or financial records are located in the following: the counties of Baldwin, Choctaw, Clarke, Mobile, Sumter, and Washington in the State of Alabama; the counties of Broward, Miami-Dade, and Monroe in the State of Florida; the parishes of Acadia, Allen, Ascension, Assumption, Avoyelles, Beauregard, Bienville, Bossier, Caddo, Calcasieu, Caldwell, Cameron, Catahoula, Claiborne, Concordia, De Soto, East Baton Rouge, East Carroll, East Feliciana, Evangeline, Franklin, Grant, Iberia, Iberville, Jackson, Jefferson, Jefferson Davis, La Salle, Lafayette, Lafourche, Lincoln, Livingston, Madison, Morehouse, Natchitoches, Orleans, Ouachita, Plaquemines, Pointe Coupee, Rapides, Red River, Richland, Sabine, St. Bernard, St. Charles, St. Helena, St. James, St. John the Baptist, St. Landry, St. Martin, St. Mary, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, Tensas, Terrebonne, Union, Vermilion, Vernon, Washington, Webster, West Baton Rouge, West Carroll, West Feliciana, and Winn in the State of Louisiana; and the counties of Adams, Alcorn, Amite, Attala, Benton, Bolivar, Calhoun, Carroll, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Claiborne, Clarke, Clay, Coahoma, Copiah, Covington, DeSoto, Forrest, Franklin, George, Greene, Grenada, Hancock, Harrison, Hinds, Holmes, Humphreys, Issaquena, Itawamba, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Jefferson Davis, Jones, Kemper, Lafayette, Lamar, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Leake, Lee, Leflore, Lincoln, Lowndes, Madison, Marion, Marshall, Monroe, Montgomery, Neshoba, Newton, Noxubee, Oktibbeha, Panola, Pearl River, Perry, Pike Pontotoc, Prentiss, Quitman, Rankin, Scott, Sharkey, Simpson, Smith, Stone, Sunflower, Tallahatchie, Tate, Tippah, Tishomingo, Tunica, Union, Walthall, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Webster, Wilkinson, Winston, Yalobusha, Yazoo in the State of Mississippi.

Thank you for subscribing to the OLMS Mailing List. We hope that you find this mailing informative.

Last Updated: 09/16/05