Skip to page content
Office of Workers' Compensation Programs
Bookmark and Share

Division of Longshore and Harbor Workers' Compensation (DLHWC)

State Guarantee Fund Longshore Security Factor Chart

Each Carrier's security deposit will be determined in accordance with the State Guarantee Fund Longshore Security Factor Chart. The Factor in the far right column determines the percent of Longshore coverage that must be secured in each state. For example:

State

Total

Percent

Estimated Obligations Unsecured Deposit

West Virginia

$200,000

100%

$200,000

Maryland

$200,000

0%

$ 0

Delware

$200,000

33%

$66,000

State Guarantee Fund Longshore Security Factor Chart

State

Guarantee Funds

Security

Factor

Defense Base Act

No Guarantee Fund applicable

Yes - full

1

Alabama

May not pay "deductible" amount, and time limits apply

Yes - partial

0.33

Alaska

Will pay, except Longshore written as surplus line

Not required

0

Arizona

Will not pay

Yes - full

1

Arkansas

$300,000 limit

Yes - partial

0.33

California

Will not pay any Longshore Act benefit

Yes - full

1

Colorado

Will pay

Not required

0

Connecticut

Will pay

Not required

0

Delaware

Will not pay "deductible" amount

Yes - partial

0.33

Florida

Will pay

Not required

0

Georgia

Will pay

Not required

0

Hawaii

Will pay

Not required

0

Idaho

Will pay

Not required

0

Illinois

Will not pay if insured nw >$25 m

Yes - partial

0.33

Indiana

Maximum benefit of $100,000 per claim

Yes - partial

0.33

Iowa

Will not pay

Yes - full

1

Kansas

Will pay

Not required

0

Kentucky

Will not pay

Yes - full

1

Louisiana

Will not pay if insured has net worth of over $25 million

Yes - partial

0.33

Maine

Will pay, but 1 year filing requirement from date of insolvency

Yes - partial

0.33

Maryland

Will pay

Not required

0

Massachusetts

Will pay

Not required

0

Michigan

Will pay

Not required

0

Minnesota

Will pay

Not required

0

Mississippi

Will pay

Not required

0

Missouri

Will not pay

Yes - full

1

Montana

Will pay

Not required

0

Nebraska

Will pay

Not required

0

Nevada

Will pay

Not required

0

New Hampshire

Will pay

Not required

0

New Jersey

Will not pay if insured is "insolvent"

Yes - partial

0.33

New Mexico

Will not pay

Yes - full

1

New York

Will not pay if insured is "insolvent"

Yes - partial

0.33

North Carolina

Will pay

Not required

0

North Dakota

Monopolistic state, no guaranty fund

Yes - full

1

Ohio

Monopolistic state, no guaranty fund

Yes - full

1

Oklahoma

Will not pay

Yes - full

1

Oregon

Will possibly pay

Yes - partial

0.33

Pennsylvania

Will not pay if insured is "insolvent" and only up to state rates

Yes - partial

0.66

Rhode Island

Will pay

Not required

0

South Carolina

Will pay

Not required

0

South Dakota

Will not pay

Yes - full

1

Tennessee

Will not pay

Yes - full

1

Texas

May pay, but not in full

Yes – partial

0.66

Utah

Will possibly pay

Yes - partial

0.33

Vermont

Will pay

Not required

0

Virginia

Will pay

Not required

0

Washington

Will pay

Not required

0

West Virginia

Will not pay Longshore Act benefits

Yes - full

1

Wisconsin

Will not pay if insured's nw > ($10 m)

Yes - partial

0.33

Wyoming

Monopolistic state, no guaranty fund

Yes - full

1