Skip to page content
Wage and Hour Division
Bookmark and Share

Wage and Hour Division (WHD)

State Regulation of For-profit Door-to-door Sales by Minors
January 1, 2010

Door-to-door sales determined to be a hazardous occupation and prohibited:

  • Alaska (1989) - Prohibited for minors under age 18
  • Florida (1991) - Prohibited for minors under age 16 except merchandise of nonprofit organizations, such as the Girl Scouts of America or the Boy Scouts of America. Such organizations shall ensure that such sales are undertaken under close supervision.
  • Idaho - Prohibited for minors under 14 to work in the distribution or transmission of merchandise or messages.
  • Maine (2001) - Prohibited for minors under age 16
  • Michigan - Prohibited for minors under 16 years of age. Work permit required, adult supervision required, compliance with state Youth Employment Standards Act for ages 16 and 17.
  • Missouri (1989/2002) - Prohibited for minors under age 16
  • North Dakota (1993) - Prohibited for minors under age 16

Door-to-door sales prohibited with certain exceptions:

  • California (1994) - Prohibited for minors under age six. Prohibited for minors under age 16 unless specific conditions are met. (See California Labor Code sections 1308.1-1308.4; California Code of Regulations, Title 8, Chapter 6, Subchapter 1, Section 11706.1). Furthermore, any persons 18 years or older who employs, transports, or supervises a minor under age 16 in door-to-door sales more than ten miles from the minor's residence must be registered with the Labor Commissioner (California Labor Code sections 1308.1-1308.4; California Code of Regulations, Title 8, Chapter 6, Subchapter 10, Sections 13670-13677.
  • Nebraska (2005) - Persons under 16 years-of-age shall not be employed or permitted to work as a door-to-door solicitor. However, persons under 16 years-of-age engaged in the distribution or delivery of newspapers or shopping news may be employed or permitted to work as a door-to-door solicitor of existing customers of such newspapers or shopping news. Additionally, persons under 16 years-of-age are permitted to work as a door-to-door solicitor if he or she is working on behalf of his or her own individual entrepreneurial endeavor.
  • Nevada (2000/01) - Prohibited for minors under age 16 in counties where the population is 100,000 or more.
  • Pennsylvania (2002) - Prohibited for minors under age 16 unless certain conditions are met including parental consent, adult supervision, and working no later than 6 p.m.
  • Texas (1995/99) - Prohibited for minors under age 14 unless accompanied by a parent or guardian. Prohibited for minors under age 18 except with signed parental consent and with specified hours of work and supervision requirements.
    (2005) - Juveniles must be at least 11 years-of-age in order to engage in the delivery of newspapers. This activity only includes distribution of newspapers on, or the maintenance of, a newspaper route and not direct sales to the general public. (2007) Junveniles must be at least 16 years of age in order to engage in the direct sales of newspapers to the general public.

Door-to-door sales prohibited for some minors and regulated for others:

  • Oregon (1985) - Prohibited for minors under age 16. Registration required for employers of 16- and 17-year-olds.
  • Virginia (1991) - Prohibited for minors under age 16. Permit required for employers of 16- and 17-year-olds.
  • Washington (1989) - Prohibited for minors under age 16 unless the Department of Labor and Industries grants a variance. Registration required for employers of 16- and 17- year-olds.

Door-to-door sales regulated:

  • Massachusetts (1990) - Certificate of registration is required for employers of minors under age 18. Law is applicable only to minors who reside away from home while so employed and who receive their primary source of income from such activity.
  • Ohio (1990/91) - Registration is required for employers of minors under age 16. Special nightwork hours restrictions in door-to-door sales apply to minors under age 16 and to 16- and 17-year-olds.
  • Tennessee (1999) - Employers of minors under age 16, who transport the minors more than 5 miles from their residences, must comply with hours of work restrictions and record-keeping requirements.
  • Utah (1990) - Registration and local licensing is required for employers of minors under age 16.
  • Wisconsin (1989) - Certification is required for employers of minors under age 18.

Other restrictions:

  • Arizona (1985) - Work in door-to-door sales is prohibited after 7 p.m. for minors under age 16.

Prepared By:

Office of Performance, Budget, and Departmental Liaison
Wage and Hour Division
U.S. Department of Labor

This document was last revised in December 2009.