Skip to page content
Office of Workers' Compensation Programs
Bookmark and Share

Division of Coal Mine Workers' Compensation (DCMWC)

Contact Us

About the Black Lung Program

The mission of the Division of Coal Mine Workers' Compensation, or Federal Black Lung Program, is to administer claims filed under the Black Lung Benefits Act. The Act provides compensation to coal miners who are totally disabled by pneumoconiosis arising out of coal mine employment, and to survivors of coal miners whose deaths are attributable to the disease. The Act also provides eligible miners with medical coverage for the treatment of lung diseases related to pneumoconiosis.

Countdown to ICD-10! New codes required October 1. Are you ready?

Division of Coal Mine Workers Compensation (DCMWC) will transition from International Classification of Diseases 9th edition (ICD-9) to the 10th edition (ICD-10) coding for medical diagnoses and inpatient hospital procedures effective October 1, 2015. The program will accept the use of the ICD-10 codes on a schedule aligned with the Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services. For services provided on or after October 1, 2015, DCMWC will require all providers to use only the ICD-10 code sets. For services provided prior to October 1, 2015, only ICD-9 codes will be accepted.

For more information, resources and news regarding the ICD-10 transition, please visit the CMS website:

New! Online Training for Medical Providers Module 4 and AMA CME Credit Now Available!

Notice of Proposed Rulemaking

In Memory of Dr. Donald Rasmussen, Champion for Coal Miners and Esteemed Physician.

Most Requested

Guidance for...

General Guidance




Laws & Related Materials



Related Links

NIOSH B-reader List

NIOSH: Notice of Proposed Rulemaking regarding digital radiography

NIOSH: "Guideline: Application of Digital Radiography for the Detection and Classification of Pneumoconiosis."

MSHA: Proposed rule on lowering miners' exposure to respirable coal dust