Skip to page content
Office of Workers' Compensation Programs
Bookmark and Share

Office of Workers' Compensation Programs (OWCP)

Division of Federal Employees' Compensation (DFEC)

Contacting Your Federal Employees' Compensation District Office

OWCP has a toll-free automated system that provides information regarding specific claims. By calling 866-OWCP-IVR (866-692-7487), injured workers and their representatives may access information regarding case status and compensation payments. Injured workers should have their 9-digit case file or claim number and social security number when calling.

Please Note: The Federal Employees Compensation (FEC) division of OWCP consolidated its medical authorization and bill payment processes on September 2, 2003. All Medical Authorizations and Bill Processing are now handled by our private contractor, ACS. Injured Workers, Medical Providers, and Employing Agencies can use our on-line tool to Check Eligibility and learn if Authorization is required for a particular procedure, to Check Authorization and learn if authorization has been approved without calling or waiting for an authorization letter, and to Check Bill Payment Status and learn the status of submitted bills and reimbursement requests. Providers may also request, and for routine care receive, medical authorization on-line. Automated claimant eligibility, bill status, and medical authorization status is also available 24 hours a day via our toll-free Interactive Voice Response (IVR) System at 866-335-8319. Effective 1/3/05, to speak to a customer service representative regarding medical authorizations or bills, you will need to call 850-558-1818, which will be a toll call.

We ask that our customers first contact a district office to resolve issues related to case status and compensation payment, and ACS to resolve issues related to medical authorizations and bill payments. Problems may also be addressed to the District Directors for the Federal Employees' Compensation Program, and the Regional Directors for the Office of Workers' Compensation Programs. A list of these offices and their geographical jurisdictions is found below. The program is headed by the Director for Federal Employees' Compensation..

The map below shows locations and jurisdictions for Federal Employees' Compensation Program District Offices.

DFEC District Offices

Map of the United States; Click on the appropriate section to go to the corresponding address information

District Office 1 — Boston

Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont


District Office 2 — New York

New Jersey, New York, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands


District Office 3 — Philadelphia

Delaware, Pennsylvania, and West Virginia; Maryland when the claimant's residence has a zip code beginning 21***


District Office 6 — Jacksonville

Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, No. Carolina, So. Carolina, and Tennessee


District Office 9 — Cleveland

Indiana, Michigan, Ohio; All special claims and all areas outside the U.S., its possessions, territories and trust territories


District Office 10 — Chicago

Illinois, Minnesota, Wisconsin


District Office 11 — Kansas City

Arkansas, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, and Nebraska; all employees of the Department of Labor, except Job Corps enrollees, and their relatives


District Office 12 — Denver

Colorado, Montana, New Mexico, No. Dakota, So. Dakota, Utah, and Wyoming


District Office 13 — San Francisco

Arizona, California, Hawaii, and Nevada


District Office 14 — Seattle

Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, and Washington


District Office 16 — Dallas

Louisiana, Oklahoma, and Texas


District Office 25 — Washington, D.C.

District of Columbia, Virginia; Maryland when the claimant's residence has a zip code other than 21***