Wage and Hour Division (WHD)
Consolidated Minimum Wage Table
Applicable to Nonsupervisory NONFARM Private Sector Employment Under State and Federal Laws1
|Greater than federal MW||Equals federal MW of $7.25||Less than federal MW||No MW Required|
|AK $9.84||IA||GA $5.15||AL|
|AR $8.50||ID||WY $5.15||LA|
|29 States + DC||14 States||2 States||5 States|
1Like the federal wage and hour law, State law often exempts particular occupations or industries from the minimum labor standard generally applied to covered employment. Some states also set subminimum rates for minors and/or students or exempt them from coverage, or have a training wage for new hires. Additionally, some local governments set minimum wage rates higher than their respective state minimum wage. Such differential provisions are not identified in this table. Users are encouraged to consult the laws of particular States in determining whether the State's minimum wage applies to a particular employment. This information often may be found at the websites maintained by State labor departments. Links to these websites are available at www.dol.gov/whd/contacts/state_of.htm.
Additional Minimum Wage Information
- The state minimum wage rate requirements, or lack thereof, are generally controlled by legislative activities within the individual states.
- Federal minimum wage law supersedes state minimum wage laws where the federal minimum wage is greater than the state minimum wage. In those states where the state minimum wage is greater than the federal minimum wage, the state minimum wage prevails.
- There are 2 states than have a minimum wage set lower than the federal minimum wage. There are 29 states plus the District of Columbia with minimum wage rates set higher than the federal minimum wage. There are 14 states that have a minimum wage requirement that is the same as the federal minimum wage requirement. The remaining 5 states do not have an established minimum wage requirement.
- The District of Columbia has the highest minimum wage at $12.50/hour. The states of Georgia and Wyoming have the lowest minimum wage ($5.15/hour) of the 45 states that have a minimum wage requirement.
- Note: There are 19 states (AK, AZ, CA, CO, DC, FL, ME, MI, MN, MO, MT, NV, NJ, NV, NY, OH, SD, VT, and WA) that currently have scheduled annual adjustments for their minimum wages based on varying formulas. Most of these increases occur around January 1st. Individuals should consult the relevant state labor offices for information on the particular formula used to adjust the state minimum wage.
This document was last revised on January 1, 2018.
The Wage and Hour Division tries to ensure that the information on this page is accurate but individuals should consult the relevant state labor office for official information.