Wage and Hour Division (WHD)
Archived News Release — Caution: Information may be out of date.
Date: December 9, 2014
Contact: Leo F. Kay or Jose A. Carnevali
Phone: 415-625-2630 or 415-625-2631
U.S. Department of Labor
Wage and Hour Division
Release Number: 14-2098-SAN
US Department of Labor gets judgment requiring Chatsworth, California, manufacturer to pay $100K in back wages, damages and penalties
LOS ANGELES -- Eli Industries Inc. will pay $93,400 in back wages and damages to 30 workers after the U.S. Department of Labor's Wage and Hour Division found that the owner of the Chatsworth company did not pay overtime to employees for almost two years. The U.S. District Court for the Central District of California entered a consent judgment that ordered payment of $46,700 in overtime back wages and $46,700 in liquidated damages. The consent judgment also included $6,600 in civil penalties, due to the willful nature of the violations.
The division's Los Angeles District Office investigated the company, which manufactures iron gates and fences.
"Employees work hard to provide for themselves and their families. Failure to pay legally required overtime hurts workers and creates a competitive disadvantage for employers who follow the law," said Kimchi Bui, district director of the divisions' Los Angeles office. "We are committed to federal wage law enforcement, so employers cannot flout the law at the expense of workers."
The Fair Labor Standards Act requires that covered employees be paid at least the federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour, as well as one and one-half times their regular rates for every hour worked beyond 40 per week. The law also requires employers to maintain accurate records of employees' wages, hours and other conditions of employment.
The FLSA provides that employers who violate the law are generally liable to employees for their back wages and an equal amount in liquidated damages, which are paid directly to the affected employees.
For more information about federal wage laws administered by the Wage and Hour Division, call the agency's toll-free helpline at 866-4US-WAGE (487-9243). Information is also available at http://www.dol.gov/whd/.
U.S. Department of Labor releases are accessible on the Internet at www.dol.gov. The information in this news release will be made available in alternate format (large print, Braille, audio tape or disc) from the COAST office upon request. Please specify which news release when placing your request at (202) 693-7828 or TTY (202) 693-7755. The Labor Department is committed to providing America’s employers and employees with easy access to understandable information on how to comply with its laws and regulations. For more information, please visit www.dol.gov/compliance.