Wage and Hour Division (WHD)
U.S. Department of Labor
Genter’s Detailing Inc. in Frisco, Texas, pays more than $22,000 in minimum back wages following US Department of Labor investigation
FRISCO, Texas -- Genter’s Detailing Inc. in Frisco has paid 53 current and former detail and car wash employees $22,345 in back wages following an investigation by the U.S. Department of Labor’s Wage and Hour Division that found violations of the Fair Labor Standards Act’s minimum wage and record-keeping provisions.
“All employees are entitled to receive the wages they have rightfully earned,” said Cynthia Watson, regional administrator for the Wage and Hour Division in the Southwest. “In this case, the employer made deductions from employees’ paychecks, which resulted in wages falling below the federal minimum wage. This is illegal and unacceptable. Our department will use every enforcement tool at our disposal to ensure that workers are properly paid, and that employers who violate the law make restitution.”
An investigation by the division’s Dallas District Office found that the employer made illegal deductions from employees’ wages for damages to dealership vehicles, routinely deducting from $200 to $400 in such instances. These deductions resulted in minimum wage violations when they reduced employees’ pay below $7.25 per hour. Additionally, the employer failed to maintain records required by the FLSA.
Genter’s Detailing, which provides car wash and detailing services to car dealerships in the Dallas/Fort Worth Metroplex, Katy and Austin, has agreed to comply with the FLSA in the future. Back wages have been paid in full.
The FLSA requires that covered, nonexempt employees be paid at least the federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour for all hours worked, plus time and one-half their regular rates of pay, including commissions, bonuses and incentive pay, for hours worked beyond 40 per week. Employers are also required to maintain accurate time and payroll records.
For more information about the FLSA and other federal wage laws, call the Wage and Hour Division’s toll-free helpline at 866-4US-WAGE (487-9243) or the division’s Oklahoma City office at 405-231-4158. Information is also available at http://www.dol.gov/whd.
U.S. Department of Labor releases are accessible on the Internet at www.dol.gov. The information in this news release will be made available in alternate format (large print, Braille, audio tape or disc) from the COAST office upon request. Please specify which news release when placing your request at (202) 693-7828 or TTY (202) 693-7755. The Labor Department is committed to providing America’s employers and employees with easy access to understandable information on how to comply with its laws and regulations. For more information, please visit www.dol.gov/compliance.