Skip to page content
Wage and Hour Division
Bookmark and Share

Wage and Hour Division (WHD)

Printer-Friendly Version

Press Releases

U.S. Department of Labor
Wage and Hour Division
Release Number: 11-1483-DAL

Date: 

Oct. 24, 2011

Contact: 

Elizabeth Todd - Juan Rodriguez

Phone: 

972-850-4710 - 972-850-4709

Juvenile detention facility security officers in Texas to receive more than $159,000 in overtime back wages following US Labor Department investigation


280 officers who worked at 4M Youth Services’ Rockdale and Granbury locations affected

ROCKDALE, Texas -- Rockdale-based 4M Youth Services Inc. has agreed to pay $159,412 in overtime back wages to 280 current and former security officers at its Rockdale and Granbury juvenile detention facilities following an investigation by the U.S. Department of Labor’s Wage and Hour Division, which found overtime and record-keeping violations of the Fair Labor Standards Act.

An investigation by the Wage and Hour Division’s Houston District Office determined that the company did not pay security officers for daily pre-shift safety meetings that they were required to attend. The investigation found that 90 officers at the Rockdale location were due a total of $71,308, and 190 officers in Granbury were due $88,104 in back wages for the unpaid time. Additionally, the company failed to maintain the required records.

“Failing to compensate workers properly who are required to attend meetings or training events is a violation of federal law,” said Cynthia Watson, regional administrator for the Wage and Hour Division in the Southwest. “Employees are entitled to receive all the wages that they have rightfully earned.”

4M Youth Services cooperated with the investigation and has agreed to future compliance with the FLSA. Payment of the back wages is ongoing.

The FLSA requires that covered employees be paid at least the federal minimum wage of $7.25 for all hours worked, plus time and one-half their regular rates of pay, including commissions, bonuses and incentive pay, for hours worked beyond 40 per week. Employers also are required to maintain accurate time and payroll records.

For more information about the FLSA and other federal wage laws, call the Wage and Hour Division’s toll-free helpline at 866-4US-WAGE (487-9243) or its Houston office at 713-339-5500. Information also is available on the Internet at http://www.dol.gov/whd .

###


U.S. Department of Labor releases are accessible on the Internet at www.dol.gov. The information in this news release will be made available in alternate format (large print, Braille, audio tape or disc) from the COAST office upon request. Please specify which news release when placing your request at (202) 693-7828 or TTY (202) 693-7755. The Labor Department is committed to providing America’s employers and employees with easy access to understandable information on how to comply with its laws and regulations. For more information, please visit www.dol.gov/compliance.