Skip to page content
Wage and Hour Division
Bookmark and Share

Wage and Hour Division (WHD)

Printer-Friendly Version

Press Releases

U.S. Department of Labor
Wage and Hour Division
Release Number: 11-1350-DAL


Oct. 24, 2011


Elizabeth Todd - Juan Rodriguez


972-850-4710 - 972-850-4709

US Labor Department recovers more than $74,000 in overtime back wages for roofing company employees in Oklahoma City

OKLAHOMA CITY -- Mid-America Roofing & Construction Inc. of Oklahoma City has paid $74,100 to 100 current and former roofing employees following an investigation by the U.S. Department of Labor’s Wage and Hour Division that found violations of the Fair Labor Standards Act’s overtime provisions.

“Employers must ensure that their pay practices comply with the appropriate statutes,” said Cynthia Watson, regional administrator for the Wage and Hour Division in the Southwest. “This company profited from having employees work overtime without paying proper wages. All employees, especially those performing difficult jobs for low wages, deserve full and fair compensation for all hours worked.”

An investigation by the Wage and Hour Division’s Oklahoma City District Office found that employees were paid “straight time” rather than time and one-half their regular rates of pay for time spent traveling from the company to the job site, regardless if the travel time went beyond 40 hours in a workweek.

Mid-America Roofing & Construction, which is primarily engaged in metal-panel roofing installation and service, has agreed to fully comply with the FLSA in the future. The back wages have been paid in full.

The FLSA requires that covered employees be paid at least the federal minimum wage of $7.25 for all hours worked, plus time and one-half their regular rates of pay, including commissions, bonuses and incentive pay, for hours worked beyond 40 per week. Time spent loading and unloading trucks, attending safety meetings and travel related to an employer’s business must be included in calculations for minimum and overtime wages, just like any other hours worked. Employers also are required to maintain accurate time and payroll records.

For more information about the FLSA and other federal wage laws, call the Wage and Hour Division’s toll-free helpline at 866-4US-WAGE (487-9243) or the division’s Oklahoma City office at 405-231-4158. Information is also available on the Internet at


U.S. Department of Labor releases are accessible on the Internet at The information in this news release will be made available in alternate format (large print, Braille, audio tape or disc) from the COAST office upon request. Please specify which news release when placing your request at (202) 693-7828 or TTY (202) 693-7755. The Labor Department is committed to providing America’s employers and employees with easy access to understandable information on how to comply with its laws and regulations. For more information, please visit