Skip to page content
Wage and Hour Division
Bookmark and Share

Wage and Hour Division (WHD)

print friendly version of this press releasePrinter-Friendly Version

Archived News Release ó Caution: Information may be out of date.

Press Releases

Date:  March 30, 2015

Contact:  Leni Fortson and Joanna Hawkins

Phone:  215-861-5102 215-861-5101

U.S. Department of Labor
Wage and Hour Division
Release Number: 15-474-NEW (whd 15-024)



Raymondís to pay more than $325,500 in back wages for overtime, minimum wage violations at Ridgewood and Montclair, NJ, eateries

160 workers to be compensated after federal investigation

--

Employer: Raymondís Ridgewood LLC, restaurant owner

Sites: Raymondís restaurants located at 101 East Ridgewood Ave., Ridgewood, N.J., and 28 Church Street in Montclair, N.J.

Investigative findings: The Northern New Jersey District Office of the U.S. Department of Laborís Wage and Hour Division found that 76 workers at the Montclair establishment are due $225,486 in back wages because the employer did not pay members of the kitchen staff overtime when they worked in excess of 40 hours in a workweek. The employer also failed to use the correct rate when calculating overtime for tipped workers.

At the Ridgewood location, 84 employees are due $100,048 in back wages because the company failed to pay the kitchen staff overtime when required. Investigators also found that the employer did not pay tipped workers the proper wage rate at the very beginning of their employment and improperly computed overtime for tipped employees.

ďRestaurant workers who live on low wages often struggle to make ends meet, so when they arenít paid correctly, that burden is even greater,Ē said John Warner, director of the Northern New Jersey Wage and Hour District Office. ďThis case reinforces the divisionís commitment to protect the rights of all workers, particularly those working hard in low-wage industries, as well as to hold employers accountable when they do not pay the wages required by law.Ē

Back wages due: $325,534

For more information about federal wage laws, call the Wage and Hour Divisionís toll-free helpline at 866-4US-WAGE (487-9243) or its Northern New Jersey District Office at 908-317-8611. Information is also available at http://www.dol.gov/whd.

###


U.S. Department of Labor releases are accessible on the Internet at www.dol.gov. The information in this news release will be made available in alternate format (large print, Braille, audio tape or disc) from the COAST office upon request. Please specify which news release when placing your request at (202) 693-7828 or TTY (202) 693-7755. The Labor Department is committed to providing Americaís employers and employees with easy access to understandable information on how to comply with its laws and regulations. For more information, please visit www.dol.gov/compliance.