Skip to page content
Wage and Hour Division
Bookmark and Share

Wage and Hour Division (WHD)

Printer-Friendly Version

Press Releases

U.S. Department of Labor
Wage and Hour Division
Release Number: 10-489-CHI


August 25, 2010


Scott Allen



Buffalo, Minn.-based home health care provider agrees to pay more than $150,000 in back wages following US Labor Department investigation

144 workers in 9 cities will receive back pay

BUFFALO, Minn. -- Prairie River Home Care Inc., a home health care provider based in Buffalo, Minn., has agreed to pay $150,043 in overtime pay owed to 144 workers following an investigation in which the U.S. Department of Labor’s Wage and Hour Division discovered that the company violated overtime pay provisions of the Fair Labor Standards Act.

The workers were employed by Prairie River Home Care Inc. of Buffalo but worked in the following Minnesota cities: Fairmont, Hutchinson, Lexington, Mankato, Marshall, Rochester, Rogers, Sartell and St. Cloud.

“The department is committed to ensuring that workers receive all wages to which they are legally entitled,” said Jose Medina, district director of the Wage and Hour Division’s office in Minneapolis, Minn. “When employees, especially vulnerable workers such as we found in this case, are deprived of their rightful wages, employers should know the department will not hesitate to take legal action to recover those back wages.”

The Wage and Hour Division’s investigation found that Prairie River Home Care violated the FLSA by failing to pay 144 current and former employees time and one-half their regular rates of pay for all hours worked in excess of 40 per week.

The employer had been paying additional half time for hours over 48 per week, which is required by Minnesota law. However, the FLSA requires that employees be paid at least the federal minimum wage of $7.25 for all hours worked plus time and one-half their regular rates for hours worked over 40 in a week, unless an employee is exempt from overtime pay.

For more information about the FLSA, call the Wage and Hour Division’s toll-free helpline at 866-4US-WAGE (487-9243). Information is also available on the Internet at


U.S. Department of Labor releases are accessible on the Internet at The information in this news release will be made available in alternate format (large print, Braille, audio tape or disc) from the COAST office upon request. Please specify which news release when placing your request at (202) 693-7828 or TTY (202) 693-7755. The Labor Department is committed to providing America’s employers and employees with easy access to understandable information on how to comply with its laws and regulations. For more information, please visit