Skip to page content
Wage and Hour Division
Bookmark and Share

Wage and Hour Division (WHD)

Printer-Friendly Version

Press Releases

U.S. Department of Labor
Wage and Hour Division
Release Number: 09-683-KAN


July 2, 2009


Rich Kulczewski



U.S. Labor Department recovers more than $64,000 in back wages for International House of Pancakes employees in Wichita and Hays, Kan. More than $4,000 in civil money penalties paid

KANSAS CITY, Kan. -- The U.S. Department of Labor’s Wage and Hour Division has recovered more than $64,000 in overtime back wages for 35 employees of Flying Dove Inc., Wichita, Kan., and White Dove Inc., Hays, Kan., both doing business as the International House of Pancakes, following investigations that disclosed multiple violations of the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA).

Mohamed Touffaha is president and owner of both companies, which together also paid $4,122 in civil money penalties for the violations.

The investigations found that nonexempt cooks as well as one manager were paid salaries with no additional overtime compensation; buspersons and dishwashers were paid in cash at straight time for overtime hours, rather than time and one-half their regular rates; and servers were paid an incorrect tip overtime rate. Furthermore, time and payroll records were not accurately maintained.

“The Labor Department’s Wage and Hour Division will continue to conduct rigorous investigations to help ensure workers receive the wages to which they’re entitled,” said James Koren, the Wage and Hour Division’s district director in Kansas City.

Regarding the Wichita location, 16 employees were paid a total of $36,571 in back wages and $3,000 in civil money penalties was paid. Regarding the Hays location, 19 employees were paid a total of $27,931 in back wages and $1,122 in civil money penalties was paid.

The Wage and Hour Division’s Kansas City District Office conducted the investigation.

The FLSA requires covered, nonexempt employees to be paid at least the federal minimum wage of $6.55 per hour for all hours worked, and time and one-half their regular rates of pay for hours worked beyond 40 in a week. Effective July 24, 2009, the minimum wage will increase to $7.25 per hour.

The FLSA also requires that workers be paid time and one-half their regular rates of pay for hours worked over 40 in a single workweek, and that employers maintain adequate and accurate records of employees’ wages, hours and other conditions of employment. Employers must also maintain accurate time and payroll records. For more information about the FLSA, call the Department of Labor’s toll-free helpline at 866-4US-WAGE (487-9243). Information is also available on the Internet at http:///


U.S. Department of Labor releases are accessible on the Internet at The information in this news release will be made available in alternate format (large print, Braille, audio tape or disc) from the COAST office upon request. Please specify which news release when placing your request at (202) 693-7828 or TTY (202) 693-7755. The Labor Department is committed to providing America’s employers and employees with easy access to understandable information on how to comply with its laws and regulations. For more information, please visit