Skip to page content
Wage and Hour Division
Bookmark and Share

Wage and Hour Division (WHD)

Wage and Hour Division History


On November, 8, 2009, the Employment Standards Administration (ESA) was abolished and the four major program components of ESA – Office of Federal Contract Compliance Programs, Office of Labor Management Standards, Office of Workers’ Compensation Programs and the Wage and Hour Division – became stand-alone programs reporting directly to the Secretary of Labor. The Office of the Assistant Secretary and the Office of Management, Administration and Planning (OMAP) were eliminated with administrative functions in OMAP transferred to the four programs or departmental administrative programs.

The purpose of the reorganization was to improve the efficiency of all four programs by eliminating a layer of review and decision-making, which allows DOL leadership to more quickly attend to policy matters in each program without having an added organization component review between the program heads and senior leadership.