
...nearly half of all workers 
nationally reported that they 
were either contractually 
forbidden or strongly 
discouraged from discussing 
their pay with their 
colleagues....

PAY SECRECY
In 2014, women who worked year-round, full-
time earned seventy-nine cents (79¢) for every 
dollar their male counterparts earned.1 Women’s 
median earnings are lower than men’s in nearly 
all occupations, whether they work in occupations 
predominantly held by women, occupations 
predominantly held by men, or occupations with a 
more even composition of men and women.2

Pay secrecy policies serve to perpetuate these 
disparities. In 2010, nearly half of all workers 
nationally reported that they were either contractually 
forbidden or strongly discouraged from discussing 
their pay with their colleagues, according to results 
from a 2010 Institute for Women’s Policy Research/
Rockefeller Survey of Economic Security.3 Prohibiting 
or discouraging any discussion of wages in the 
workplace is far more widespread in the private than 
in the public sector.4 In this survey, 23.1 percent of 

private sector workers reported that discussion of 
wages and salaries was formally prohibited and an 
additional 38.1 percent reported that such discussion 
was discouraged by managers.5

On April 8, 2014, President Barack Obama issued 
an executive order prohibiting Federal contractors, 
subcontractors and federally assisted construction 
contractors from discharging or in any other manner 
discriminating against any employee or applicant 
for employment because the employee or applicant 
inquired about, discussed, or disclosed his or 
her compensation or the compensation of other 
employees or applicants. The Administration has 
also endorsed the Paycheck Fairness Act, which 
would, in part, prohibit employer retaliation against an 
employee for inquiring about, discussing, or disclosing 
his or her wages or those of another employee in 
response to a complaint or charge, or in furtherance 
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of a sex discrimination investigation, proceeding, 
hearing, or action, or an investigation conducted by 
the employer.

Section 7 of the National Labor Relations Act (NLRA) 
protects non-supervisory employees who are covered 
by the Act from employer retaliation when they 
discuss their wages or working conditions with their 
colleagues as part of a concerted activity to improve 
them, even if there is no union or other formal 
organization involved in the effort. These employee 
rights are enforced by the National Labor Relations 
Board (NLRB). Nevertheless, the NLRA does not 
address all situations where employers prohibit or 
discourage employees from discussing their pay with 
their colleagues.6

The 1980s saw the introduction of the first two state 
laws to address employer wage secrecy policies. 
In 1982, Michigan enacted a law which prohibited 
employers from doing any of the following: require 
as a condition of employment non-disclosure by an 
employee of his or her wages; require an employee 
to sign a waiver or other document which purports 
to deny an employee the right to disclose his or 
her wages; and discharge, formally discipline, or 
otherwise discriminate against an employee for job 
advancement on the basis of having disclosed his 
or her wages. In 1985, California enacted a similar 
law. Between 2000 and 2015 eleven additional states 
‒ Colorado, Connecticut, Illinois, Louisiana, Maine, 
Minnesota, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, 
Oregon,  and Vermont ‒ enacted “pay secrecy” laws 
and California expanded its 1985 law. The language 
of the state laws is attached. 
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CALIFORNIA
Cal. Lab. Code § 232

No employer may do any of the following: 
   (a) �Require, as a condition of employment, that an 

employee refrain from disclosing the amount of his or 
her wages.

   (b) �Require an employee to sign a waiver or other 
document that purports to deny the employee the right 
to disclose the amount of his or her wages.

   (c) �Discharge, formally discipline, or otherwise 
discriminate against an employee who discloses the 
amount of his or her wages.

Cal. Lab. Code § 1197.5(j)
 
   (j) (1) �An employer shall not discharge, or in any manner 

discriminate or retaliate against, any employee 
by reason of any action taken by the employee to 
invoke or assist in any manner the enforcement 
of this section. An employer shall not prohibit an 
employee from disclosing the employee’s own 
wages, discussing the wages of others, inquiring 
about another employee’s wages, or aiding or 
encouraging any other employee to exercise his or 
her rights under this section. Nothing in this section 
creates an obligation to disclose wages.

       (2) �Any employee who has been discharged, 
discriminated or retaliated against, in the terms 
and conditions of his or her employment because 
the employee engaged in any conduct delineated 
in this section may recover in a civil action 
reinstatement and reimbursement for lost wages 
and work benefits caused by the acts of the 
employer, including interest thereon, as well as 
appropriate equitable relief.

   (3)     �A civil action brought under this subdivision may be 
commenced no later than one year after the cause 
of action occurs.

COLORADO 
Colo. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 24-34-402(1)(i) 

(1) It shall be a discriminatory or unfair employment 
practice:
   (i) �Unless otherwise permitted by federal law, for an 

employer to discharge, discipline, discriminate 
against, coerce, intimidate, threaten, or interfere 
with any employee or other person because the 
employee inquired about, disclosed compared, 
or otherwise discussed the employee’s wages; to 
require as a condition of employment nondisclosure 
by an employee of his or her wages; or to require an 
employee to sign a waiver or other document that 
purports to deny an employee the right to disclose 
his or her wage information. This paragraph (i) shall 
not apply to employers who are exempt from the 
provisions of the “National Labor Relations Act”, 29 
U.S.C. sec. 151 et seq.

CONNECTICUT
Conn. Acts 15-196 (Reg. Sess.)

Sec. 1.
(b) No employer shall:
   (1)  Prohibit an employee from disclosing or discussing 

the amount of his or her wages or the wages of 
another employee of such employer that have been 
disclosed voluntarily by such other employee;

   (2)  Prohibit an employee from inquiring about the wages 
of another employee of such employer;

   (3)  Require an employee to sign a waiver or other 
document that denies the employee his or her right 
to disclose or discuss the amount of his or her wages 
or the wages of another employee of such employer 
that have been disclosed voluntarily by such other 
employee;

   (4)  Require an employee to sign a waiver or other 
document that denies the employee his or her right to 
inquire about the wages of another employee of such 
employer;
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   (5) �Discharge, discipline, discriminate against, retaliate 
against or otherwise penalize any employee who 
discloses or discusses the amount of his or her wages 
or the wages of another employee of such employer 
that have been disclosed voluntarily by such other 
employee; or

   (6) �Discharge, discipline, discriminate against, retaliate 
against or otherwise penalize any employee who 
inquires about the wages of another employee of 
such employer.

(c) �Nothing in this section shall be construed to require any 
employer or employee to disclose the amount of 

     wages paid to any employee.

(d) ��An action to redress a violation of subsection (b) of this 
section may be maintained in any court of competent 

      jurisdiction by any one or more employees. An  
      �employer who violates subsection (b) of this section may 

be found liable for compensatory damages, attorney’s 
fees and costs, punitive damages and such legal and 
equitable relief as the court deems just and proper.

(e) �No action shall be brought for any violation of 
subsection (b) of this section except within two years 
after such violation.

ILLINOIS
820 Ill. Comp. Stat. 112/10(b) 

(b) It is unlawful for any employer to interfere with, restrain,  
or deny the exercise of or the attempt to exercise any 

     right provided under this Act [Equal Pay Act of 2003]. It 
     is unlawful for any employer to discharge or in any other  

manner discriminate against any individual for inquiring 
about, disclosing, comparing, or otherwise discussing 
the employee’s wages or the wages of any other 
employee, or aiding or encouraging any person to 

     exercise his or her rights under this Act.

LOUISIANA
La. Rev. Stat. ann. § 23:664

D.  It shall be unlawful for an employer to interfere with,  
restrain, or deny the exercise of, or attempt to exercise, 
any right provided under this Chapter. It shall be 
unlawful for any employer to discriminate, retaliate, 
or take any adverse employment action, including 
but not limited to termination or in any other manner 
discriminate against any employee for inquiring about, 
disclosing, comparing, or otherwise discussing the 
employee’s wages or the wages of any other employee, 
or aiding or encouraging any other employee to 
exercise his or her rights under this Chapter.

MAINE
Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 26 § 628 

…An employer may not discharge or discriminate 
against any employee by reason of any action taken by 
such employee to invoke or assist in any manner the 
enforcement of this section. An employer may not prohibit 
an employee from disclosing the employee’s own wages 
or from inquiring about another employee’s wages if the 
purpose of the disclosure or inquiry is to enforce the rights 
granted by this section. Nothing in this section creates an 
obligation to disclose wages.

MICHIGAN 
MICh. Comp. lawS ann. § 408.483a(13a)(1) 

Sec. 13a. 
(1) An employer shall not do any of the following:

   (a)  Require as a condition of employment nondisclosure 
by an employee of his or her wages.

   (b)  Require an employee to sign a waiver or other 
document which purports to deny an employee the 
right to disclose his or her wages.

   (c) Discharge, formally discipline, or otherwise  
discriminate against for job advancement an 
employee who discloses his or her wages.
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MINNESOTA
Minn. Stat. § 181.172 

(a) An employer shall not:
    (1) �require nondisclosure by an employee of his or her 

wages as a condition of employment;
    (2) �require an employee to sign a waiver or other 

document which purports to deny an employee the 
right to disclose the employee’s wages; or

    (3) �take any adverse employment action against an 
employee for disclosing the employee’s own wages 
or discussing another employee’s wages which have 
been disclosed voluntarily.

(b) Nothing in this section shall be construed to:
    (1) �create an obligation on any employer or employee to 

disclose wages;
    (2) �permit an employee, without the written consent of 

the employer, to disclose proprietary information, 
trade secret information, or information that is 
otherwise subject to a legal privilege or protected by 
law;

    (3) �diminish any existing rights under the National Labor 
Relations Act under United States Code, title 29; or

    (4) �permit the employee to disclose wage information of 
other employees to a competitor of their employer.

(c) �An employer that provides an employee handbook to its 
employees must include in the handbook notice of 

     employee rights and remedies under this section.

(d) �An employer may not retaliate against an employee for 
asserting rights or remedies under this section.

(e) �An employee may bring a civil action against an 
employer for a violation of paragraph (a) or (d). If a  
court finds that an employer has violated paragraph    
(a) or (d), the court may order reinstatement, back pay, 

     restoration of lost service credit, if appropriate, and the  
     expungement of any related adverse records of an 
     employee who was the subject of the violation.

NEW HAMPSHIRE
N.H. Rev tat nn

I.  No employer shall discharge or in any other manner  
discriminate against any employee because he or she:

       (b) Inquired about, discussed, or disclosed his or her  
wages or those of another employee.

II. This section shall not apply to any employee who has  
access to the wage information of other employees 
as a part of such employee’s essential job functions 
who discloses the wages of such other employees to 
individuals who do not otherwise have access to such 
information, unless such disclosure is in response to a 
complaint or charge or in furtherance of an investigation, 
proceeding, hearing, or action under RSA 275:41-a 
including an investigation conducted by the employer. 
Nothing in this section shall be construed to limit the 
rights of an employee provided under any other  
provision of law.

N.H. Rev. Stat. ann. § 275:41-b 

I.  No employer shall require the following as a condition of 
employment:
       (a)  That an employee refrain from disclosing the 

amount of his or her wages.
       (b)  That an employee sign a waiver or other document 

that purports to deny the employee the right to 
disclose the amount of his or her wages, salary, or 
paid benefits.

II.  No employer shall discharge, formally discipline, or 
otherwise discriminate against an employee who discloses 
the amount of his or her wages, salary, or paid benefits.

. S . A . § 275:38-a 
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NEW JERSEY
N.J.S.A. 10:5-12(r)

11.  It shall be an unlawful employment practice, or, as the 
case may be, an unlawful discrimination:

      r.  For any employer to take reprisals against any  
employee for requesting from any other employee 
or former employee of the employer information 
regarding the job title, occupational category, and 
rate of compensation, including benefits, of any 
employee or former employee of the employer, 
or the gender, race, ethnicity, military status, or 
national origin of any employee or former employee 
of the employer, regardless of whether the request 
was responded to, if the purpose of the request for 
the information was to assist in investigating the 
possibility of the occurrence of, or in taking of legal 
action regarding, potential discriminatory treatment 
concerning pay, compensation, bonuses, other 
compensation, or benefits. Nothing in this subsection 
shall be construed to require an employee to 
disclose such information about the employee herself 
to any other employee or former employee of the 
employer or to any authorized representative of the 
other employee or former employee.

NEW YORK
N.Y. Lab. Law § 194(1)

Sec. 1.
  4. (a)  No employer shall prohibit an employee  from   

inquiring  about, discussing,  or disclosing the 
wages of such employee or another employee.

      (b)   An employer may, in a written policy provided to   
all employees, establish reasonable workplace   
and workday limitations on the time, place and 
manner for inquires about, discussion of, or the 
disclosure of wages. Such limitations shall be 
consistent with standards promulgated by the 
commissioner and shall be consistent with all 
other state and federal laws. Such limitations may 
include prohibiting an employee from discussing or  
disclosing  the  wages  of another employee without 
such employee’s prior permission.

      (c)  Nothing in this subdivision shall require an  
employee to disclose his or her wages. The failure 
of an employee to adhere to such  reasonable  
limitations in such written policy shall be an 
affirmative defense to any claims made against an 
employer under this subdivision,  provided that any 
adverse employment action taken by the employer 
was for failure to  adhere  to  such  reasonable  
limitations  and not for mere inquiry, discussion 
or disclosure of wages in  accordance  with  such  
reasonable limitations in such written policy.

     (d)   This prohibition shall not apply to instances in 
which an employee who has access to the wage 
information of other employees as a part of such 
employee’s essential job functions  discloses  the  
wages of such other employees to individuals who 
do not otherwise have access to such information, 
unless such disclosure is in response to a complaint  
or charge,  or  in furtherance of an investigation, 
proceeding, hearing, or action under this chapter, 
including an investigation conducted  by  the 
employer.

     (e)  Northing in this section shall be construed to limit  
the rights of an employee provided under any other 
provision of law or collective bargaining agreement.
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OREGON
OR. Rev. Stat. § 659A

Sec. 2. (
(1)   It is an unlawful employment practice for an employer  

to discharge, demote or suspend, or to discriminate 
or retaliate against, an employee with regard to 
promotion, compensation or other terms, conditions or 
privileges of employment because the employee has:

     (a) Inquired about, discussed or disclosed in any   
manner the wages of the employee or of another 
employee; 

              or
     (b) Made a charge, filed a complaint or instituted, or  

caused to be instituted, an investigation, proceeding,   
hearing or action based on the disclosure of wage 
information by the employee.

(2)   This section does not apply to an employee who has 
  access to wage information of employees as part 

of the job functions of the employee’s position and 
discloses the wages of those employees to individuals 
not authorized access to the information, unless the 

  disclosure is in response to a charge or complaint or is 
in furtherance of an investigation, proceeding, hearing 
or action, including but not limited to an investigation 
conducted by the employer.

VERMONT
Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 21, § 495(a)(7)(8)

a)(7)(B)(i) No employer may do any of the following:
    (I) �Require, as a condition of employment, that 

an employee refrain from disclosing the 
amount of his or her wages or from inquiring 
about or discussing the wages of other 
employees.

    (II) �Require an employee to sign a waiver or 
other document that purports to deny the 
employee the right to disclose the amount 
of his or her wages or to inquire about or 
discuss the wages of other employees.

            (ii) �Unless otherwise required by law, an employer 
may prohibit a human resources manager from 
disclosing the wages of other employees.

  (8) �Retaliation prohibited. An employer, employment 
agency, or labor organization shall not discharge or in 
any other manner discriminate against any employee 
because the employee:

       (D) �has disclosed his or her wages or has inquired 
about or discussed the wages of other 
employees.
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