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PER CURIAM:

Claimant appeals the Supplemental Decision and Order on Attorney’s Fee and the
Order Granting Motion for Reconsideration and Denying Attorney’s Fee Reimbursement
and Denying Section 3(e) Credit (2006-LHC-00764) of Administrative Law Judge Daniel
A. Sarno rendered on a claim filed pursuant to the provisions of the Longshore and
Harbor Workers” Compensation Act, as amended, 33 U.S.C. 8901 et seq. (the Longshore
Act). We must affirm the administrative law judge’s findings of fact and conclusions of
law if they are supported by substantial evidence, are rational, and are in accordance with
law. 33 U.S.C. 8921(b)(3); O’Keeffe v. Smith, Hinchman & Grylls Associates, Inc., 380
U.S. 359 (1965).



Claimant injured her right knee on July 6, 2004, during the course of her
employment for employer as a security guard. Claimant filed claims for compensation
under both the Virginia Workers’ Compensation Act (the Virginia Act) and the
Longshore Act. While the federal claim was pending, the Virginia Workers’
Compensation Commission issued an award, pursuant to the parties’ agreement, whereby
employer was ordered to pay claimant eight weeks of temporary total disability
compensation and medical benefits. The commission also awarded claimant’s counsel an
attorney’s fee of $400 to be paid to counsel by claimant. In his decision on the claim
under the Longshore Act, Administrative Law Judge Huddleston found that claimant’s
injury is within the coverage of the Longshore Act. He awarded claimant benefits
identical to those she received pursuant to the Virginia order, with employer receiving a
credit for compensation already paid. In a supplemental decision, Judge Huddleston
awarded claimant’s counsel an attorney’s fee of $4,000 payable by employer, pursuant to
the parties’ agreement.

Subsequently, claimant sought an order requiring employer to pay claimant an
additional $400 in compensation on the basis that the amount claimant paid her attorney
pursuant to the Virginia award may not be offset against employer’s compensation
liability under the Longshore Act. Claimant further sought a 20 percent penalty for the
late payment of $400 in compensation under the Longshore Act. See 33 U.S.C. 8914(f).
In his Supplemental Decision and Order on Attorney’s Fee, Administrative Law Judge
Sarno denied claimant reimbursement of the $400 she paid as an attorney’s fee under the
Virginia award. In his order on claimant’s motion for reconsideration, the administrative
law judge again declined to order employer to reimburse claimant based on his lack of
familiarity with the Virginia Act, which he stated may require a claimant in certain
instances to pay her own attorney’s fee. The administrative law judge also found,
however, that employer is not entitled to a credit under Section 3(e), 33 U.S.C. §903(e),
for the $400 attorney’s fee paid by claimant.

On appeal, claimant contends that the administrative law judge erred as a matter of
law in finding that she is not entitled to an additional $400 in compensation, despite his
denial of a credit to employer. Claimant contends that the administrative law judge’s
finding is inconsistent with longstanding circuit court and Board precedent. Claimant
also contends that, due to employer’s failure to pay her $400, i.e., its payment of $400
less than the full amount of compensation awarded her under the Longshore Act, she is
entitled to a penalty of $80 pursuant to Section 14(f). Employer responds, urging
affirmance of the administrative law judge’s finding that it is not liable to claimant for an
additional $400 because the sum was “compensation” under the Virginia Act.

Section 3(e) of the Longshore Act provides that “any amounts paid to an employee
for the same injury, disability, or death for which benefits are claimed under this chapter
pursuant to any other workers’ compensation law ... shall be credited against any liability
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imposed by this chapter.” 33 U.S.C. 8903(e). The United States Court of Appeals for the
Fourth Circuit, within whose jurisdiction the instant case arises, has not addressed the
issue of an employer’s entitlement to a Section 3(e) credit for an attorney’s fee paid as
part of a state workers’ compensation award. The Board and those circuit courts that
have addressed this issue, however, have uniformly held that attorney’s fees paid as part
of a state workers’ compensation award are not included in an employer’s Section 3(e)
credit as such fees do not serve as compensation for the employee’s injury, but rather as
reimbursement for the expenses incurred in bringing the state claim. See Lustig v. U.S.
Department of Labor, 881 F.2d 593, 595-596, 22 BRBS 159, 161(CRT) (9™ Cir. 1989),
aff’g in pertinent part and rev’g on other grounds Lustig v. Todd Shipyards Corp., 20
BRBS 207 (1988); Landry v. Carlson Mooring Service, 643 F.2d 1080, 1088, 13 BRBS
301, 307 (5" Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 1123 (1983); Shafer v. General Dynamics
Corp., 23 BRBS 212, 214 (1990); Hoey v. General Dynamics Corp., 17 BRBS 229, 231
n.3 (1985). Specifically, in Lustig, the Ninth Circuit cited with approval the following
reasoning of the Fifth Circuit in a case issued prior to the enactment of Section 3(e):

The amount of [claimant’s] state award which has been allocated to his
attorney did not serve as compensation for his injury, but rather as
reimbursement for the expenses he incurred by having to resort to the
courts for compensation. To credit that sum against an LHWCA
compensation award is to mix apples and oranges; such a crediting
procedure would not obviate double recovery, as the LHWCA award does
not duplicate [claimant’s] de facto recovery of litigation expenses under
state law. Rather, the LHWCA award should be diminished only by state
compensation the plaintiff actually receives.

Lustig, 881 F.2d at 595-596, 22 BRBS at 161-162(CRT), citing Landry, 643 F.2d at
1088, 13 BRBS at 307.

Claimant received identical compensation awards under the Virginia Act and the
Longshore Act. The Virginia award also ordered claimant to pay her attorney a fee of
$400. As claimant’s counsel correctly argued below, this fee lessened claimant’s
recovery of compensation by $400. Landry, 643 F.3d at 1088, 13 BRBS at 307. As
claimant is entitled to receive all the benefits due her under the Longshore Act subject to
employer’s Section 3(e) credit for only those Virginia state compensation benefits she
ultimately received for her work injury, the administrative law judge properly found on
reconsideration that employer is not entitled to a Section 3(e) credit for this $400. See
Lustig, 881 F.2d at 595-596, 22 BRBS at 161-162 (CRT); Landry, 643 F.2d at 1088, 13
BRBS at 307; Shafer, 23 BRBS at 214; Hoey, 17 BRBS at 231 n.3. The administrative
law judge erred, however, in not also stating that, therefore, employer is liable to claimant
for an additional $400 in compensation benefits so that she receives her full recovery
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under the Longshore Act. We so hold, and the administrative law judge’s orders are
modified accordingly. Shafer, 23 BRBS at 214.

We reject employer’s contention in its response brief that this case is
distinguishable from the above-cited cases because an attorney’s fee paid under the
Virginia Act is “compensation.” In support of its contention, employer relies on Roman
v. Ondeo Degremont, Inc., 627 S.E.2d 539 (Va. App. 2006), in which the Virginia Court
of Appeals held that, where the Virginia Workers’ Compensation Commission orders the
attorney’s fee paid out of the claimant’s accrued compensation, the fee remains
compensation for purposes of the assessment of a penalty on late-paid compensation.
Contrary to employer’s assertion, the question of whether the attorney’s fee awarded by
the Virginia Workers’ Compensation Commission in this case is “compensation” under
Virginia law is irrelevant because Section 3(e) entitles employer to a credit for any
amounts paid to an employee for the same injury, disability, or death for which benefits
are claimed under this Act, “notwithstanding any other provision of law.” See Ponder v.
Peter Kiewit Sons’ Co., 24 BRBS 46, 56 (1990). Moreover, under the Supremacy
Clause, U.S. Const. art. VI, cl. 2, the Longshore Act cannot be superseded by state law.
Bouchard v. General Dynamics Corp., 963 F.2d 541, 25 BRBS 152(CRT) (2° Cir.
1992)(holding that a credit provision of state law cannot supersede Section 3(e)). The
definition of “compensation” provided by the Virginia Court of Appeals in Roman,
therefore, cannot alter the crediting directed by Section 3(e) of the Longshore Act.

Employer also argues there is no evidence that claimant actually paid the $400
attorney’s fee awarded on January 12, 2005, by the Virginia Workers’ Compensation
Commission until August 4, 2005, after Judge Huddleston’s June 1, 2005, decision
became final. On reconsideration, the administrative law judge specifically found that
claimant paid her attorney the $400 fee. Order on Reconsideration at 2. The purpose of
the Section 3(e) credit is to prevent double recoveries by claimant. Transbay Container
Terminal v. U.S. Dep’t of Labor, Benefits Review Board, 141 F.3d 907, 911, 32 BRBS
35, 38(CRT) (9" Cir. 1998); Lustig, 881 F.2d at 595, 22 BRBS at 161(CRT); Landry, 643
F.2d at 1088, 13 BRBS at 307. Thus, employer is not entitled to a Section 3(e) credit for
the attorney’s fee paid by claimant from her Virginia award as she did not ultimately
retain the $400, notwithstanding the timing of her payment of the fee.

Claimant also requests that a 20 percent penalty be assessed against employer
pursuant to Section 14(f) due to employer’s failure to pay her the full amount of
compensation owed her under the Longshore Act, as ordered by Judge Huddleston. The
Board, however, lacks jurisdiction to address requests for the assessment of a Section
14(f) penalty where, as here, the district director has not yet considered the issue.
Sinclair v. United Food & Commercial Workers, 23 BRBS 148 (1989); Von Lindenberg
v. L.T.O. Corp. of Baltimore, 19 BRBS 233 (1987). We therefore decline to address this
issue.
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Accordingly, the administrative law judge’s determination on reconsideration that
employer is not entitled to a Section 3(e) credit for the $400 claimant paid her attorney in
fees out of her state compensation award is affirmed. Employer is liable to claimant for
an additional $400 in compensation, pursuant to her award under the Longshore Act, and
the administrative law judge’s decisions are modified to so provide.

SO ORDERED.

ROY P. SMITH
Administrative Appeals Judge

REGINA C. McGRANERY
Administrative Appeals Judge

BETTY JEAN HALL
Administrative Appeals Judge



