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DECISION and ORDER 

Appeals of the Decision and Order on Reconsideration and the 
Supplemental Decision and Order Denying Attorney Fees of Daniel A. 
Sarno, Jr., Administrative Law Judge, United States Department of Labor. 
 
Gregory E. Camden (Montagna Klein Camden L.L.P.), Norfolk, Virginia, 
for claimant. 
 
Traci Castille (Franke & Salloum, P.L.L.C.), Gulfport, Mississippi, for 
employer/carrier.   
 
Before:  HALL, Acting Chief Administrative Appeals Judge, SMITH and 
McGRANERY, Administrative Appeals Judges. 
 
PER CURIAM: 
 
Claimant appeals the Decision and Order on Reconsideration and the 

Supplemental Decision and Order Denying Attorney Fees (2012-LHC-01479) of 
Administrative Law Judge Daniel A. Sarno, Jr., rendered on a claim filed pursuant to the 
provisions of the Longshore and Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act, as amended, 33 
U.S.C. §901 et seq. (the Act).  We must affirm the administrative law judge’s findings of 
fact and conclusions of law if they are supported by substantial evidence, rational, and 
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accordance with law.  33 U.S.C. §921(b)(3); O’Keeffe v. Smith, Hinchman & Grylls 
Associates, Inc., 380 U.S. 359 (1965). 

 
Claimant last worked for employer as a longshoreman on July 20, 2005, when he 

retired.  He filed a claim for compensation on January 20, 2012, based on a December 5, 
2011 audiogram, which revealed an 18.1 percent binaural impairment.  CX 1.  Claimant 
underwent another audiogram on February 23, 2012, which demonstrated a 15.3 percent 
binaural hearing impairment.  CX 3; EX 7.  On February 24, 2013, based on an average 
of the audiometric results, employer voluntarily paid claimant benefits for a 16.55 percent 
binaural impairment.  CXs 9, 10, 19; EXs 3, 4, 5.  Claimant, however, continued to seek 
compensation for the entire 18.1 percent impairment demonstrated on his filing 
audiogram.  In preparation for the hearing, employer subpoenaed claimant’s medical 
records, which revealed an August 14, 2006 audiogram that reflected a 14.7 percent 
binaural hearing loss.1  EX 6. 

 
On March 11, 2013, Judge Malamphy found that the December 2011 audiogram 

was the only evidence presumptive of the degree of hearing loss.  Therefore, he found 
claimant entitled to benefits for an 18.1 percent binaural hearing loss.  He also found that 
employer failed to timely controvert the claim, and he awarded claimant an additional 10 
percent assessment pursuant to Section 14(e), 33 U.S.C. §914(e).  Decision and Order at 
11.  Employer moved for reconsideration, and the case was reassigned to Administrative 
Law Judge Sarno (the administrative law judge).  The administrative law judge found, 
contrary to Judge Malamphy’s finding, that the December 2011 audiogram was not a 
“presumptive audiogram” but that it, like the 2006 audiogram, is probative of the extent 
of claimant’s hearing impairment.  Because it revealed the lowest percentage of hearing 
loss, the administrative law judge gave the 2006 audiogram greater weight, and he 
awarded claimant benefits for a 14.7 binaural hearing loss.2  The administrative law judge 
also awarded claimant a Section 14(e) assessment.  Decision and Order on Recon. at 4.  
Claimant appeals the administrative law judge’s decision on reconsideration.  BRB No. 
13-0526A.3  Employer responds urging affirmance.   

                                              
1 This test is the first audiogram administered to claimant after the cessation of his 

employment with employer in July 2005. 
 
2 The administrative law judge stated the American Medical Association Guides to 

the Evaluation of Permanent Impairment “require that if multiple tests are equally 
probative, the test that demonstrates the lowest hearing loss should be given the greatest 
weight.”  Decision and Order on Recon. at 4; see discussion, infra.   

3 Employer initially appealed the administrative law judge’s decision as well, but 
subsequently withdrew its appeal.  BRB No. 13-0526. 
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 In light of the award of a Section 14(e) assessment, claimant’s counsel filed a 
petition for an attorney’s fee.  In his supplemental decision, the administrative law judge 
denied claimant’s counsel an employer-paid fee, as he found the criteria under Section 
28(a), (b), 33 U.S.C. §928(a), (b), had not been met.  Claimant appeals the administrative 
law judge’s supplemental decision denying counsel a fee.  BRB No. 14-0042.  Employer 
responds, urging affirmance.4  Claimant’s appeals have been consolidated for decision. 

 
Claimant contends the administrative law judge erred in finding that the 2011 

audiogram is not presumptive evidence of a compensable 18.1 percent impairment 
pursuant to Section 702.441, 20 C.F.R. §702.441.5  Claimant asserts that, because the 
2011 audiogram is the only presumptive audiogram of record, he is entitled to benefits 
for an 18.1 percent hearing impairment.  We reject claimant’s contention.   

 
Section 8(c)(13)(C) of the Act provides: 
 
An audiogram shall be presumptive evidence of the amount of hearing loss 
sustained as of the date thereof, only if (i) such audiogram was 
administered by a licensed or certified audiologist or a physician who is 
certified in otolaryngology, (ii) such audiogram, with the report thereon, 
was provided to the employee at the time it was administered, and (iii) no 
contrary audiogram made at that time is produced.  
 

33 U.S.C. §908(c)(13)(C); see also 20 C.F.R. §702.441.  Additionally, in order to be 
presumptive evidence of the amount of hearing loss, the regulations require, in relevant 
part, that “The accompanying report must set forth the testing standards used” and that 
“Audiometer testing procedures required by hearing conservation programs pursuant to 

                                              
4 On April 8, 2014, in light of the decision of the United States Court of Appeals 

for the Fourth Circuit in Lincoln v. Director, OWCP, 744 F.3d 911, 48 BRBS 17(CRT) 
(4th Cir. 2014) (addressing the statutory interpretation of 33 U.S.C. §928(a) with respect 
to an employer-paid attorney’s fee), employer filed a supplemental brief along with a 
motion to accept its submission.  We grant employer’s motion and accept the 
supplemental brief.  29 C.F.R. §802.215.  

  
5 As the 2006 and 2011 audiograms were conducted by the same audiological 

group and contained similar information regarding the testing and interpretive 
methodology, the administrative law judge found “they appear to be” equally probative 
as to the extent of claimant’s hearing loss.  Decision and Order on Recon. at 4.  Because 
the 2012 audiogram report did not state when the audiometer was calibrated, the 
administrative law judge found it less reliable and entitled to less weight than the 2006 or 
2011 audiogram.  Neither party challenges this latter finding.  See Scalio v. Ceres Marine 
Terminals, Inc., 41 BRBS 57 (2007).   



 4

the Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970 should be followed (as described at 29 
C.F.R. 1910.95 and appendices).”  20 C.F.R. §702.441(b)(1), (d).  The Occupational 
Safety Health Act regulations specify that audiograms should be “pure tone.”  29 C.F.R. 
§1910.95.  The OWCP Procedure Manual specifies that “audiograms performed after 
December 27, 1984 must conform to the following standards (see Section 20 C.F.R. 
section 702.441(d) and 29 C.F.R. 1910.95): 

* * * 
b.  Audiometric tests shall be pure tone, air conduction, hearing threshold 
examinations, with test frequencies including, at a minimum, 500, 1000, 
2000, 3000, 4000 and 6000 Hz. . . .” 
 

Procedure Manual at Part 3-401 para. 3(b).6  Here, the administrative law judge 
accurately observed that the 2011 audiogram did “not describe the testing standards, 
including whether the audiogram was performed using a pure tone audiometer.”  
Decision and Order on Recon. at 3; CX 1.  Thus, the administrative law judge found that 
the 2011 audiogram is not presumptive evidence of disability.  Decision and Order on 
Recon. at 3.  Although claimant asserts the 2011 audiogram was administered using an 
audiometer and, by definition, an audiometer “measur[es] hearing activity for PURE 
TONES of normally available frequencies,” Cl. Br. at 9 (emphasis included), the 
administrative law judge was not required to infer that a pure tone audiometer was used 
absent any evidence in the record to that effect.  See generally White v. Newport News 
Shipbuilding & Dry Dock Co., 633 F.2d 1070, 12 BRBS 598 (4th Cir. 1980) (an 
administrative law judge is entitled to weigh the medical evidence and draw his own 
conclusions from it).  Therefore, as it is rational and supported by substantial evidence, 
we affirm the administrative law judge’s finding that the 2011 audiogram is not 
presumptive evidence of the extent of claimant’s hearing impairment.  See generally 
Newport News Shipbuilding & Dry Dock Co. v. Director, OWCP [Hess], 681 F.2d 938, 
14 BRBS 1004 (4th Cir. 1982). 

 
Claimant next contends the administrative law judge erred in weighing the 2006 

and 2011 probative audiograms.7  An audiogram may be credited as determinative of a 
claimant’s disability as long as it complies with the American Medical Association’s 

                                              
6 http://www.dol.gov/owcp/dlhwc/lsproman/proman.htm#03-0401 

7 An audiogram that fails to qualify as “presumptive evidence” of the extent of a 
claimant’s hearing loss nonetheless may be considered to be probative evidence by the 
administrative law judge in his determination of the extent of the claimant’s hearing loss.  
See generally Craig, et al v. Avondale Industries, Inc., 35 BRBS 164 (2001) (decision on 
recon. en banc), aff’d on recon. en banc, 36 BRBS 65 (2002), aff’d sub nom. Avondale 
Industries, Inc. v. Alario, 355 F.3d 848, 37 BRBS 116(CRT) (5th Cir. 2003). 
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Guides for the Evaluation of Permanent Impairment (the AMA Guides).  33 U.S.C. 
§908(c)(13)(E); Green-Brown v. Sealand Services, Inc., 586 F.3d 299, 43 BRBS 
57(CRT) (4th Cir. 2009).  The administrative law judge is entitled to determine which 
audiometric evidence is the most probative of a claimant’s impairment.  R.H. [Harris] v. 
Bath Iron Works Corp., 42 BRBS 5 (2008); Steevens v. Umpqua River Navigation, 35 
BRBS 129 (2001); Labbe v. Bath Iron Works Corp., 24 BRBS 159 (1991).  In this case, 
the administrative law judge stated: “The Guides require that if multiple tests are equally 
probative, the test that demonstrates the lowest hearing loss should be given the greatest 
weight,” and he accorded the 2006 audiogram the greatest weight and found that claimant 
has a 14.7 percent binaural hearing impairment.  Decision and Order on Recon. at 4.  We 
agree with claimant that this finding cannot be affirmed.  Contrary to the administrative 
law judge’s statement, the AMA Guides do not require an administrative law judge to 
credit the test demonstrating the lowest hearing loss.  The administrative law judge 
appears to have confused the AMA Guides with the American Academy of 
Otolaryngology’s Guide for Conservation of Hearing Noise (AAO Guide), which states 
that where tests are “consistent,”8 “the test showing the best hearing is the test that best 
represents the true hearing.”  EX 11 at 45.  The AAO Guide, however, also does not 
mandate a finding that the test demonstrating the lowest hearing loss be given the greatest 
weight, nor is an administrative law judge required to follow the AAO Guide in 
evaluating audiograms under the Act.  The Act requires only that the AMA Guides be 
used to calculate hearing impairments.  33 U.S.C. §908(c)(13)(E); 20 C.F.R. §702.441(d).  
While the administrative law judge has discretion in weighing the evidence, and he may 
choose to give consideration to the AAO Guide, which was admitted into evidence, he is 
not required to do so.  Therefore, as it is unclear how the administrative law judge would 
have weighed the two audiograms if he did not believe he was required to assign the 
greatest weight to the audiogram demonstrating the lowest hearing loss, we vacate the 
administrative law judge’s finding that the 2006 audiogram is determinative of claimant’s 
disability.  We remand the case for the administrative law judge to again consider the 
probative value of the 2006 and 2011 audiograms as they relate to the extent of 
claimant’s hearing loss.  Green-Brown, 586 F.3d 299, 43 BRBS 57(CRT); Harris, 42 
BRBS 5.  

                                              
8 Per the AAO Guide: 
 
If the audiograms agree within 10 dB at four or more of the recommended 
audiometric frequencies (0.5, 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, and 8 kHz), they may be 
considered consistent.  If so, the average of the thresholds at 0.5, 1, 2, and 3 
kHz should be calculated for each test and that audiogram that yields the 
lowest (smallest number) average should be accepted as representing the 
status of the person’s hearing sensitivity. 
 

EX 11 at 25. 
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Claimant also challenges the administrative law judge’s supplemental decision 
denying an employer-paid attorney’s fee.  He asserts that, because employer did not pay 
all benefits due within 30 days of receiving notice of the claim, employer is liable for a 
fee under either Section 28(a) or Section 28(b) of the Act.9  33 U.S.C. §928(a), (b).   

 
An attorney’s fee must be awarded in accordance with Section 28 of the Act, 33 

U.S.C. §928, and the applicable regulation, 20 C.F.R. §702.132.  Under Section 28(a) of 
the Act, if an employer declines to pay any compensation within 30 days after receiving 
written notice of a claim from the district director, and the claimant’s attorney’s services 
result in a successful prosecution of the claim, the claimant’s attorney is entitled to a fee 
payable by employer.  Virginia Int’l Terminals, Inc. v. Edwards, 398 F.3d 313, 39 BRBS 
1(CRT) (4th Cir.), cert. denied, 546 U.S. 960 (2005).  Under Section 28(b) of the Act, 
when an employer voluntarily pays or tenders benefits and thereafter a controversy arises 
over additional compensation due, the employer will be liable for an attorney’s fee if the 
claimant succeeds in obtaining greater compensation than that paid or tendered by the 
employer.  33 U.S.C. §928(b); see Edwards, 398 F.3d 313, 39 BRBS 1(CRT).   

 
Claimant first contends his attorney is entitled to an employer-paid fee under 

Section 28(a) because employer declined to pay all compensation due within 30 days of 
its receipt of the claim from the district director.  See n.9, supra.  In this case, the 
administrative law judge observed that employer received written notice of the claim 
from the district director on January 27, 2012, and it commenced payment on February 
24, 2012, 29 days after receiving written notice of the claim.  Accordingly, the 
administrative law judge found that an attorney’s fee cannot be awarded under Section 
28(a).  We agree. 

 
The United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit, within whose 

jurisdiction this case arises, has held that if an employer pays “any” or “some” 
compensation to claimant within the 30 days after it received notice of the claim from the 
district director, the employer cannot be held liable for an attorney’s fee pursuant to 
Section 28(a).  Lincoln v. Director, OWCP, 744 F.3d 911, 48 BRBS 17(CRT) (4th Cir. 
2014); Edwards, 398 F.3d 313, 39 BRBS 1(CRT).  As employer here paid “some” 
compensation to claimant, benefits for a 16.55 percent hearing loss, within 30 days of its 
receipt of the claim for compensation from the district director, Section 28(a) does not 
apply.  Lincoln, 744 F.3d at 914-915, 48 BRBS at 18-19(CRT) (the most natural reading 
of the Section 28(a) provision is that if an employer pays the claimant “something by way 
of compensation,” it is not liable for an attorney’s fee under that section); Edwards, 398 

                                              
9 In support of his contention for liability under Section 28(a), claimant asserts that 

the Section 14(e) assessment awarded demonstrates employer’s failure to make timely 
compensation payments pursuant to Section 28(a).   
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F.3d 313, 39 BRBS 1(CRT).  We affirm the administrative law judge’s conclusion that 
employer is not liable for an attorney’s fee pursuant to Section 28(a).  

 
Claimant argues, in the alternative, that the administrative law judge erred in 

failing to award an employer-paid fee under Section 28(b).  Specifically, claimant asserts 
his attorney is entitled to an employer-paid fee because claimant refused to accept the 
district director’s recommendation and, by utilizing the services of an attorney, he was 
awarded an additional assessment under Section 14(e), which had not been recommended 
by the district director.  As claimant misconstrues Section 28(b), we disagree.  

 
The Fourth Circuit has held that, in order for an employer to be held liable for an 

attorney’s fee under Section 28(b), the district director must have held an informal 
conference and issued a written recommendation, the employer must have rejected that 
recommendation, and the claimant must have used the services of an attorney to secure 
greater compensation than the employer paid or tendered after the written 
recommendation.  Newport News Shipbuilding & Dry Dock Co. v. Director, OWCP 
[Hassell], 477 F.3d 123, 41 BRBS 1(CRT) (4th Cir. 2007); Newport News Shipbuilding & 
Dry Dock Co. v. Director, OWCP [Moody], 474 F.3d 109, 40 BRBS 69(CRT) (4th Cir. 
2006); Edwards, 398 F.3d 313, 39 BRBS 1(CRT).  In this case, an informal conference 
was held on April 19, 2012, following which the district director recommended: 

 
I agree that the appropriate method of payment was to average the two 
audiograms.  The results are 16.55 percent binaural impairment or 33.10 
weeks.  I also disagree that a Section 14(e) penalty is due.  Since the carrier 
is allowed to make a payment biweekly until the scheduled award is 
exhausted, I do not agree that a penalty should be awarded.   
 

EX 4.  This recommendation was in accord with what employer had voluntarily paid 
claimant, and it was claimant, not employer, who rejected the recommendation.  
Although claimant pursued a formal hearing and was awarded an additional assessment 
under Section 14(e) by the administrative law judge, employer did not reject the district 
director’s recommendation that no Section 14(e) assessment was due.  Thus, the award of 
a Section 14(e) assessment does not render employer liable for claimant’s attorney’s fee.  
Andrepont v. Murphy Exploration & Prod. Co., 566 F.3d 415, 43 BRBS 27(CRT) (5th 
Cir. 2009).  As all prerequisites for an employer-paid fee under Section 28(b) have not 
been met, employer cannot be held liable for an attorney’s fee under this section.  
Hassell, 477 F.3d 123, 41 BRBS 1(CRT); Edwards, 398 F.3d 313, 39 BRBS 1(CRT).  
Therefore, we also affirm the administrative law judge’s denial of an employer-paid fee 
pursuant to Section 28(b).  



Accordingly, the administrative law judge’s award of permanent partial disability 
benefits is vacated, and the case is remanded for further consideration as to the extent of 
claimant’s hearing impairment.  In all other aspects, the Decision and Order on 
Reconsideration is affirmed.  The administrative law judge’s Supplemental Decision and 
Order Denying Attorney Fees is affirmed. 
  
 SO ORDERED. 
 
 
 
      ____________________________________ 
      BETTY JEAN HALL, Acting Chief 
      Administrative Appeals Judge 
 
 
 
      ____________________________________ 
      ROY P. SMITH 
      Administrative Appeals Judge 
 
 
 
      ____________________________________ 
      REGINA C. McGRANERY 
      Administrative Appeals Judge 


