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DECISION and ORDER 

 
Appeal of the Compensation Order Awarding of Attorney Fees of David 
Groeneveld, District Director, United States Department of Labor. 
 
Edward W. Murphy (Morrison Mahoney LLP), Boston, Massachusetts, for 
self-insured employer. 
 
Before:  SMITH, McGRANERY and HALL, Administrative Appeals 
Judges. 

 
PER CURIAM: 

Employer appeals the Compensation Order Awarding of Attorney Fees (OWCP 
No. 1-171935) of District Director David Groeneveld rendered on a claim filed pursuant 
to the provisions of the Longshore and Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act, as amended, 
33 U.S.C. §901 et seq. (the Act).  We must affirm the district director’s fee award unless 
it is shown by the challenging party to be arbitrary, capricious, an abuse of discretion, or 
not in accordance with law.  Roach v. New York Protective Covering Co., 16 BRBS 114 
(1984). 

Claimant filed a claim for compensation on November 4, 2010.  He asserted that 
repetitive kneeling, squatting, crawling, walking, and working on hard surfaces caused 
him injury to both lower extremities; however, he stated he did not lose time from work.  
By form letter, which appears to be dated November 10, 2010, the district director 
notified employer of this claim.1  On December 21, 2010, Dr. Willetts concluded that 
claimant has a five percent permanent impairment of each knee, with a portion of that 

                                              
1Employer’s first report of injury, Form LS-202, is dated November 9, 2010, and 

indicates that employer authorized medical treatment with claimant’s choice of physician. 
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being due to his work activities.  Counsel forwarded this report to the district director’s 
office on January 6, 2011.  On January 19, 2011, employer filed a notice of payment of 
compensation without an award, indicating it was paying claimant benefits under the 
schedule, 33 U.S.C. §908(c)(2), for a five percent impairment to each leg in accordance 
with Dr. Willetts’s report. 

On January 28, 2011, claimant’s counsel filed a petition for an attorney’s fee for 
work performed before the district director.  He requested a fee for services in the amount 
of $2,222.50, representing 8.75 hours of attorney time at an hourly rate of $250 and .5 
hours of paralegal time at an hourly rate of $70, plus $750 in legal costs.  Employer filed 
objections, challenging only its liability for a fee, arguing it did not decline to pay 
benefits and, in fact, immediately paid claimant benefits upon receiving Dr. Willetts’s 
medical report, as it did not know how much to pay until it had the doctor’s report.  In 
reply, counsel asserted that payment did not occur within 30 days after notice of the claim 
as required by Section 28(a), 33 U.S.C. §928(a). 

The district director considered the fee petition and the objections.  He noted that 
claimant filed his claim on November 9, 2010, and employer filed its notice of payment 
without award on January 19, 2011.  The district director applied Section 28(a) of the Act 
and found that counsel is entitled to an employer-paid fee.  Because he considered several 
entries to be excessive, the district director reduced the fee request by 1.25 hours and 
awarded a total fee of $2,660, representing the remaining hours as well as the costs 
requested.  Employer appeals the fee award.  Claimant has not responded. 

Employer contends the district director erred in awarding a fee pursuant to Section 
28(a), as it did not “decline to pay” “on the ground that there is no liability.”  Rather, 
employer asserts that the delay in payment was due entirely to claimant’s having 
presented a claim for an undetermined amount of benefits and having scheduled his 
doctor’s appointment well after the 30 days for employer’s response had expired.  As it 
did not file a notice of controversion or decline to pay any benefits, and as it merely 
waited to determine the amount of benefits sought by claimant, and it paid those 
promptly upon so learning, employer asserts that it is not liable for a fee under the Act.   

Section 28(a) of the Act states: 

If the employer or carrier declines to pay any compensation on or before the 
thirtieth day after receiving written notice of a claim for compensation 
having been filed from the deputy commissioner, on the ground that there is 
no liability for compensation within the provisions of this chapter and the 
person seeking benefits shall thereafter have utilized the services of an 
attorney at law in the successful prosecution of his claim, there shall be 
awarded, in addition to the award of compensation, in a compensation 
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order, a reasonable attorney’s fee against the employer or carrier. . . . 

33 U.S.C. §928(a).  Section 28(a) applies when an employer declines to pay any benefits 
within 30 days of receiving notice of the claim from the district director.  See, e.g., Pool 
Co. v. Cooper, 274 F.3d 173, 35 BRBS 109(CRT) (5th Cir. 2001); A.M. [Mangiantine] v. 
Electric Boat Corp., 42 BRBS 30 (2008); W.G. [Gordon] v. Marine Terminals Corp., 41 
BRBS 13 (2007).  An employer’s inaction during the 30-day period has been held to 
constitute a “decline to pay” and its voluntary payment of benefits before the claim has 
been filed or after the 30-day period expires does not prevent application of Section 
28(a).  Richardson v. Continental Grain Co., 336 F.3d 1103, 37 BRBS 80(CRT) (9th Cir. 
2003); see also Virginia International Terminals, Inc. v. Edwards, 398 F.3d 313, 39 
BRBS 1(CRT) (4th Cir. 2005), cert. denied, 546 U.S. 960 (2005). Therefore, contrary to 
employer’s assertion that it did not “decline to pay” benefits, its inaction during the 30-
day period after it received notice of the claim for compensation means it “declined to 
pay” any benefits under Section 28(a).  Id.; Craig, et al. v. Avondale Industries, Inc., 35 
BRBS 164 (2001) (decision on recon. en banc), aff’d on recon. en banc, 36 BRBS 65 
(2002), aff’d sub nom. Avondale Industries, Inc. v. Alario, 355 F.3d 848, 37 BRBS 
116(CRT) (5th Cir. 2003); Mangiantine, 42 BRBS 30. 

 Moreover, we reject employer’s contention that it could not have paid benefits 
within the 30-day period because claimant had not claimed benefits for any specific 
impairment.  In Craig, et al., the various claimants executed claims for compensation for 
hearing loss but did not attach interpreted audiograms or state the amount of disability 
claimed or benefits sought.  The employer argued that it could not have paid benefits 
within the 30-day time-frame as it did not know what amount to pay and, when it so 
learned, it paid promptly.  The Board held that the claimants’ attorneys were entitled to 
attorney’s fees paid by the employer, as the employer had not paid benefits within the 
allotted 30 days after receiving the notices of the claims.  The Board agreed with the 
Director, Office of Workers’ Compensation Programs, that nothing in the Act requires a 
claimant to submit evidence of disability or impairment with the claim for compensation, 
see 33 U.S.C. §913, and that the notice of the claim itself is what triggers the 30-day 
period under Section 28(a).  Craig, 36 BRBS at 66-67; Craig, 35 BRBS at 169-170.  The 
Board stated that the 30-day period allows an employer sufficient time to have a claimant 
examined and to determine whether to pay or controvert the claim.  Craig, 35 BRBS at 
170.   

 The United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit affirmed the Board’s 
decision in Craig.  The court agreed that a valid “claim” does not require that evidence be 
provided when the claim is filed.  Thus, it mattered not whether the claimants had 
attached uninterpreted audiograms or had attached nothing to their claims.  Rather, a 
claim only need be a writing disclosing the intent to assert a right to compensation.  The 
court stated that the employer is free to schedule an evaluation of a claimant and should 
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have done so immediately upon receiving notice of the claims, thereby giving it time to 
ascertain the amount of benefits due so as to avoid fee liability.  Avondale Industries, Inc. 
v. Alario, 355 F.3d 848, 852-853, 37 BRBS 116, 118-119(CRT) (5th Cir. 2003).  As 
employer did not pay any compensation within 30 days of notice of the claims, the court 
affirmed the liability of the employer pursuant to Section 28(a).  Similarly, in this case, 
the fact that employer voluntarily paid benefits upon receiving Dr. Willetts’s report in 
January 2011 does not negate its failure to pay benefits before the expiration of the 30-
day period following its receipt of the notice of the claim in November 2010, irrespective 
of whether claimant provided evidence of impairment with his claim.  Id.  Thus, the 
district director properly held employer liable for claimant’s attorney’s fee.  Id.; 
Mangiantine, 42 BRBS 30.  As employer does not challenge the amount of the fee award, 
we affirm the district director’s award of an attorney’s fee payable by employer. 

Accordingly, the district director’s Compensation Order Awarding of Attorney 
Fees is affirmed. 

SO ORDERED. 

 

_______________________________ 
ROY P. SMITH 
Administrative Appeals Judge 
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Administrative Appeals Judge 
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