
 
 
      BRB No. 00-0569 
 
EUGENE CRAIG ) 
 ) 

Claimant-Petitioner ) 
 ) 

v. ) 
 ) 
AVONDALE   INDUSTRIES, ) DATE ISSUED:                               
INCORPORATED ) 
 )  

Self-Insured  ) 
Employer-Respondent ) DECISION and ORDER 

 
Appeal of the Compensation Order-Award of Attorney’s Fees of Chris John 
Gleasman, District Director, United States Department of Labor. 

 
John D. Gibbons (Gardner, Middlebrooks, Fleming, Gibbons & Kittrell, P.C.), 
Mobile, Alabama, for claimant. 

 
Christopher M. Landry (Blue Williams, L.L.P.), Metarie, Louisiana, for 
employer. 

 
Before: SMITH and McGRANERY, Administrative Appeals Judges, and 
NELSON, Acting Administrative Appeals Judge. 

 
PER CURIAM: 

 
Claimant appeals the Compensation Order-Award of Attorney’s Fees (Case No. 07-

153732) of District Director Chris John Gleasman rendered on a claim filed pursuant to the 
provisions of the Longshore and Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act, as amended, 33 U.S.C. 
§901 et seq.  (the Act).  The amount of an attorney’s fee award  is discretionary and may be 
set aside only if the challenging party shows it to be arbitrary, capricious, an abuse of 
discretion, or not in accordance with law.  See Muscella v.  Sun Shipbuilding & Dry Dock 
Co., 12 BRBS 272 (1980).      
 

The facts in this case are gleaned from attachments to the parties’ briefs.  Claimant 
filed a claim under the Act for a work-related binaural hearing loss on July 12, 1999.  
Attached to the claim were the results of a hearing examination which does not appear to 
indicate that claimant suffered a compensable hearing impairment.  Claimant did not attach a 
medical report to the claim, but did attach a cover letter requesting that employer compensate 
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claimant for medical care by a physician of his choice.  Employer filed a Notice of 
Controversion on July 30, 1999, asserting that since no medical report was attached to the 
claim, and since the June 22, 1999, audiogram was not performed by a certified audiologist, 
there was not a valid claim to which to respond.  Formal notice of claimant’s claim was sent 
by the district director to employer on August 3, 1999.  Claimant underwent a second 
audiometric evaluation on September 16, 1999, which showed a 42.8 percent binaural 
hearing loss.  After a copy of this report was sent to employer on October 6, 1999, employer, 
on October 19, 1999,  voluntarily began paying permanent partial disability compensation to 
claimant.  33 U.S.C. §908(c)(13)(B).  Claimant underwent an audiometric evaluation by 
employer’s physician on November 8, 1999, which revealed a 7.8 percent binaural 
impairment.  Based on these results,  on November 23, 1999, employer filed an LS-208 form, 
Notice of Final Payment, stating that it had made full and final payment of benefits to 
claimant for a work-related 7.8 percent binaural impairment.1 
 

Claimant’s counsel thereafter filed a fee petition for work performed before the 
district director, requesting a fee totaling $825, representing 5.5 hours at an hourly rate of 
$150, and $250.50 in expenses.  Employer filed objections to the fee petition.  In his 
Compensation Order, the district director stated that since entitlement to compensation was 
not established until submission of the November 12, 1999, audiogram, at which time 
employer made prompt payment, all time charged cannot be the liability of employer; rather, 
the district director  found claimant’s counsel’s services to be the liability of claimant as a 
lien on his compensation.  33 U.S.C. §928(c).  He stated further that time claimed before 
August 26, 1999, cannot be assessed against employer, citing Jones v. Chesapeake & 
Potomac Tel. Co., 11 BRBS 7 (1979)(Miller, J., dissenting in part), aff’d mem., No. 79-1458 
(D.C. Cir. Feb. 26, 1980), amended, (D.C. Cir. March 31, 1980).  The district director 
awarded claimant’s counsel a fee of $250 for his work, stating he was taking into 
consideration the amount of benefits obtained. 
 

                                                 
1Computation for claimant’s benefits was made in the following manner: 7.8 percent x 

200 weeks = 15.6 weeks of compensation x compensation rate of $410.02 = $6,396.31.  
Employer paid the balance of this amount, $3,936.19, on November 23, 1999. 

On appeal, claimant contends that the district director erred in concluding that all time 
and expenses incurred by claimant’s counsel were the responsibility of claimant.  Claimant 
asserts that employer should be liable for claimant’s attorney’s fee for services rendered and 
costs incurred from August 3, 1999, the date upon which employer formally received notice 
from the district director that a claim had been filed, to October 19, 1999, the date it made its 
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first payment of compensation.  Claimant further contends that the district director did not 
specify his reasons for reducing counsel’s fee request, and requests that the case be remanded 
to the district director for clarification.  Employer responds, urging affirmance of the district 
director’s fee award.  For the reasons set forth below, we affirm the district director’s award 
of an attorney’s fee. 
 

Employer may be held liable for an attorney’s fee under Section 28(a) of the Act, 33 
U.S.C. §928(a), only if employer “declines to pay” any compensation on or before the 
thirtieth day after receiving written notice of a claim for compensation, and claimant is 
thereafter successful in obtaining benefits.  See Savannah Machine & Shipyard Co. v. 
Director, OWCP, 642 F.2d 887, 13 BRBS 294 (5th Cir. 1981); Presley v. Tinsley 
Maintenance Service, 529 F.2d 433, 3 BRBS 398 (5th Cir. 1976).  If employer pays some 
benefits voluntarily, and a controversy develops over additional benefits, employer may be 
held liable for an attorney’s fee under Section 28(b) of the Act, 33 U.S.C. §928(b).  The 
United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, within whose jurisdiction the present 
case arises, has held that employer’s liability under Section 28(b) is predicated on employer’s 
refusal to follow the  recommendation of the district director following  informal  
proceedings  and on claimant’s  thereafter  obtaining  greater compensation than 
employer voluntarily paid.  See James J. Flanagan Stevedores, Inc. v. Gallagher, 
219 F.3d 426, 34 BRBS 35(CRT) (5th Cir. 2000);  FMC Corp. v. Perez, 128 F.3d 
908, 31 BRBS 162(CRT) (5th Cir. 1997); see also Todd Shipyards Corp. v. Director, 
OWCP [Watts], 950 F.2d 607, 25 BRBS 65(CRT) (9th Cir. 1991); Boe v. Dep’t of the 
Navy/MWR, 34 BRBS 108 (2000).  If employer pays all benefits due without resort to 
formal proceedings, it may not be held liable for claimant’s attorney’s fee.  Perez, 
128 F.3d at 910, 31 BRBS at 163-164(CRT);  Boe, 34 BRBS at 110-111.   If 
employer cannot be held liable for claimant’s attorney’s fee under either Section 28(a) or (b), 
claimant may be held liable for an attorney’s fee as a lien on his compensation award.  33 
U.S.C. §928(c); see 20 C.F.R. §702.132(a). 
 

In the instant case, claimant’s initial claim of July 12, 1999, stated that claimant had 
suffered a work-related hearing loss, but did not identify a specific degree of impairment.  
The audiogram attached to the claim does not appear to indicate that claimant suffered a 
compensable hearing impairment.  Thus, claimant’s filing was akin to an anticipatory filing 
inasmuch as it did not identify a specific degree of hearing impairment.  See, e.g., I.T.O. 
Corp. of Virginia v. Pettus, 73 F.3d 523, 30 BRBS 6 (CRT)(4th Cir. 1995), cert. denied, 519 
U.S. 807 (1996); Meekins v. Newport News Shipbuilding & Dry Dock Co., 34 BRBS 5, aff’d 
mem., No. 00-1442 (4th Cir. Nov. 17, 2000).  Accordingly, at this point there was no claim to 
which employer could respond by paying benefits; without an impairment rating, employer 
could neither commence payment nor decline to pay.2   
                                                 

2While the claim did request authorization for medical treatment, employer was not 
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On October 6, 1999, employer received a copy of claimant’s September 16, 1999, 

audiogram, which showed a specific binaural loss of 42.8 percent; it was at this point that 
employer was first put on notice of a compensable claim for disability benefits.  Thereafter, 
employer made its first payment of compensation on October 19, 1999.  Based on its 
response to the October claim, employer cannot be held liable under Section 28(a) of the Act 
for the attorney’s fee awarded in this case, as employer did not decline to pay compensation 
within 30 days of receipt of claimant’s claim for compensation.  See Perez, 128 F.3d at 
910, 31 BRBS at 163-164(CRT);  Boe, 34 BRBS at 110-111.  Moreover, we hold that 
employer cannot be held liable for an attorney’s fee under Section 28(b) of the Act, as 
employer paid all benefits due by November 23, 1999, without resort to further 
proceedings.  Id.  Accordingly, we affirm the district director’s determination that 
employer is not liable for claimant’s counsel’s attorney’s fee.   
 

Lastly, claimant challenges the reductions made in the amount of the fee 
requested; specifically, claimant contends that the district director erred by not 
specifying the items he disapproved in reducing the fee requested by claimant’s 
counsel.  In view of the limited award of permanent partial disability compensation, 
the district director awarded counsel a fee of $250 as a lien upon compensation.  As 
the district director’s reduction is reasonable, and the Board has  previously affirmed 
across the board reductions where the fact-finder determined that claimant achieved 
limited success, the district director’s above-mentioned reduction is affirmed.  See 
Ezell v. Direct Labor, Inc., 33 BRBS 19, 30-31 (1999); Hill v. Avondale Industries, 
Inc., 32 BRBS 186, 192 (1998), aff’d sub nom. Hill v. Director, OWCP, 195 F.3d 790, 
33 BRBS 184(CRT) (5th Cir. 1999), cert. denied, 120 U.S. 2215 (2000). 

                                                                                                                                                             
presented with a specific request for payment to which it could respond.  Thus, employer’s 
failure to pay benefits at that time cannot be construed as a refusal to pay. 



 

Accordingly, the Compensation Order-Award of Attorney’s Fees of the district 
director is affirmed. 
 

SO ORDERED. 
 

 
  
ROY P. SMITH 
Administrative Appeals Judge 

 
 
 

  
REGINA C. McGRANERY 
Administrative Appeals Judge 

 
 
 

  
MALCOLM D. NELSON, Acting 
Administrative Appeals Judge 


