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STATUTORY SUMMARY:

State agencies shall issue expedited licenses to military spouses within 60
days of the receipt of a completed application, so long as the military spouse
has held a license in good standing in another jurisdiction for at least one
year and is in good standing in any and all jurisdictions in which a license
is held. The military spouse must pay any applicable fees. If the licensed
military spouse has not held a license for at least one year, state agencies
may grant the military spouse a temporary license lasting for a time-period
determined by the agency so long as the military spouse holds a license in
good standing in any jurisdiction in which they are licensed and said
temporary license does not pose a risk to public health, welfare, or safety.

RELEVANT LAW:

MD. Code Business Regulation § 2.5-105. Expedited license

(a) In general. --

(1) Each unit shall issue an expedited license to a service member, veteran, or military
spouse who meets the requirements of this section.

(2) If a service member, veteran, or military spouse meets the requirements for
licensure, a unit shall issue the license within 60 days after receiving a completed
application.

(b) Application. -- An application for a license shall include the following, in the form and
manner required by the unit:

(1) proof that the applicant is a service member, veteran, or military spouse;

VETERANS’ EMPLOYMENT AND TRAINING SERVICE
UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR

200 Constitution Ave NW

Washington, DC 20210

Updated by the U.S. Department of Labor, 8/18/2022



http://www.dol.gov/license-recognition
https://dol.gov/license-recognition

2)

3)

(4)

©)

(6)
(7

Maryland, Page 2 of 3

proof that:

(1) the applicant has held a valid license in good standing issued in another state
for at least 1 year; and

(i1) each valid license held by the applicant issued in another state is in good
standing;

if the applicant is a service member or veteran, proof that the applicant is assigned
to a duty station in the State or has established legal residence in the State;

if the applicant is a military spouse, proof that the applicant's spouse is assigned to
a duty station in the State or has established legal residence in the State;

if a criminal background check is required by the unit for licensure, proof of
application for a criminal background check;

proof that the applicant has submitted the full application for licensure; and

payment of any application fee required by the unit.

MD. Code Business Regulation § 2.5-106. Temporary license -- Where other state
requirements not equivalent

(a) In general. -- Subject to subsections (b) and (¢) of this section, a unit may issue a temporary
license to a service member, veteran, or military spouse who has held a valid license in
good standing issued in another state for less than 1 year, provided that each valid license

held by the service member, veteran, or military spouse is in good standing.

(b) Limited validity. -- A temporary license issued under this section authorizes the service
member, veteran, or military spouse, for a limited period of time, as determined by the unit,
to perform services regulated by the unit while the service member, veteran, or military
spouse completes additional requirements for licensure in this State.

(©) When insurance prohibited. -- A unit may not issue a license under this section if issuance
of the license would pose a risk to public health, welfare, or safety.
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MD. Code Business Regulation § 2.5-101. Definitions.

(2)
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(e)
®

In this title the following words have the meanings indicated.

(1) “License” means any grant of authority to an individual to practice an occupation
or profession.

(2) “License” includes a certificate, permit, or registration.
(1) “Military spouse” means the spouse of a service member or veteran.
(2) “Military spouse” includes a surviving spouse of:

(1) a veteran; or

(i1) a service member who died before the date on which the application for a
license is submitted.

“Service member” means an individual who is an active duty member of:
(1) the armed forces of the United States;

(2) a reserve component of the armed forces of the United States; or
3) the National Guard of any state.

“Unit” means a unit in the Department that is authorized to issue a license.

“Veteran” means a former service member who was discharged from active duty under
circumstances other than dishonorable before the date on which the application for a
license is submitted.
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