BLA Assignments FY 2021

FY 2021 Geographic Assignment Chart for Black Lung Cases Involving Claimants Residing in the United States: This chart outlines the OALJ District Offices to which cases under the BLBA and its extensions involving claimants residing in the United States are normally assigned in the first instance. As the chart is a guideline, cases may be assigned to other District Offices as circumstances may warrant. Additionally, this chart applies to cases assigned in FY 2021 and is subject to revision in subsequent fiscal years.

By Office:

Cherry Hill	Alabama, Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Massachusetts, New		
	Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania (excluding the		
	following counties: Alleghany, Armstrong, Beaver, Bedford, Blair,		
	Butler, Cambria, Cameron, Centre, Clarion, Clearfield, Crawford,		
	Dauphin, Delaware, Elk, Erie, Fayette, Forest, Franklin, Fulton, Greene,		
	Huntingdon, Indiana, Jefferson, Lawrence, McKean, Mercer Mifflin,		
	Potter, Somerset, Venango, Warren, Washington, and Westmoreland),		
	Rhode Island, Tennessee, Vermont, West Virginia (only the following		
	<u>counties</u> : Fayette, Greenbrier, Monroe, Pocahontas, Raleigh, Summers,		
	and Wyoming)		
Cincinnati	Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Ohio (excluding the following counties:		
	Belmont, Harrison, Jefferson, Lawrence, Meigs, and Monroe)		
D.C.	District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, Michigan, South		
	Carolina, Virginia, West Virginia (only the following counties:		
	Berkeley, Grant, Hampshire, Hardy, Jefferson, McDowell, Mercer,		
	Mineral, and Morgan)		
Pittsburgh	Pennsylvania (only the following counties: Alleghany, Armstrong,		
	Beaver, Bedford, Blair, Butler, Cambria, Cameron, Centre, Clarion,		
	Clearfield, Crawford, Dauphin, Delaware, Elk, Erie, Fayette, Forest,		
	Franklin, Fulton, Greene, Huntingdon, Indiana, Jefferson, Lawrence,		
	McKean, Mercer Mifflin, Potter, Somerset, Venango, Warren,		
	Washington, and Westmoreland), West Virginia (excluding the following		
	<u>counties</u> : Berkeley, Fayette, Grant, Greenbrier, Hampshire, Hardy,		
	Jefferson, McDowell, Mercer, Mineral, Monroe, Morgan, Pocahontas,		
	Raleigh, Summers, and Wyoming)		
	Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho,		
DO. ¹	Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, Montana,		
	Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon,		
	South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Washington, Wyoming		

¹ States that produce low numbers of Black Lung cases will be assigned to the district offices by the National Office directly and will maintain the "DO" designation until assignment.

By Location:

Alabama	Cherry Hill
Alaska	DO
Arizona	DO
Arkansas	DO
California	DO
Colorado	DO
Connecticut	Cherry Hill
District of Columbia	DC
Delaware	Cherry Hill
Florida	DC
Georgia	DC
Hawaii	DO
Idaho	DO
Illinois	Cincinnati
Indiana	Cincinnati
Iowa	DO
Kansas	DO
Kentucky	Cincinnati
Louisiana	DO
Maine	Cherry Hill
Maryland	DC
Massachusetts	Cherry Hill
Michigan	DC
Minnesota	DO
Mississippi	DO
Missouri	DO
Montana	DO
Nebraska	DO
Nevada	DO
New Hampshire	Cherry Hill
New Jersey	Cherry Hill
New Mexico	DO
New York	Cherry Hill
North Carolina	DC
North Dakota	DO
Ohio (excluding the following counties: Belmont, Harrison,	
Jefferson, Lawrence, Meigs, and Monroe)	Cincinnati
Ohio (only the following counties: Belmont, Harrison,	
Jefferson, Lawrence, Meigs, and Monroe)	Pittsburgh
Oklahoma	DO
Oregon	DO

Pennsylvania (only the following counties: Alleghany, Armstrong, Beaver, Bedford, Blair, Butler, Cambria, Cameron, Centre, Clarion, Clearfield, Crawford, Dauphin, Delaware, Elk, Erie, Fayette, Forest, Franklin, Fulton, Greene, Huntingdon, Indiana, Jefferson, Lawrence, McKean, Mercer Mifflin, Potter, Somerset, Venango, Warren, Washington, and Westmoreland)	Pittsburgh
Pennsylvania (excluding the following counties: Alleghany, Armstrong, Beaver, Bedford, Blair, Butler, Cambria, Cameron, Centre, Clarion, Clearfield, Crawford, Dauphin, Delaware, Elk, Erie, Fayette, Forest, Franklin, Fulton, Greene, Huntingdon, Indiana, Jefferson, Lawrence, McKean, Mercer Mifflin, Potter, Somerset, Venango, Warren, Washington, and Westmoreland)	Cherry Hill
Rhode Island	Cherry Hill
South Carolina	DC
South Dakota	DO
Tennessee	Cherry Hill
Texas	DO
Utah	DO
Vermont	Cherry Hill
Virginia	DC
Washington	DO
West Virginia (only the following counties: Fayette, Greenbrier, Monroe, Pocahontas, Raleigh, Summers, and Wyoming)	Cherry Hill
West Virginia (only the following counties: Berkeley, Grant, Hampshire, Hardy, Jefferson, McDowell, Mercer, Mineral, and Morgan)	DC
West Virginia (excluding the following counties: Berkeley, Fayette, Grant, Greenbrier, Hampshire, Hardy, Jefferson, McDowell, Mercer, Mineral, Monroe, Morgan, Pocahontas, Raleigh, Summers, and Wyoming)	Pittsburgh
Wisconsin	DC
Wyoming	DO