State Law Provisions for Deductions of Separation, Dismissal, or Severance
Payments

STATE DON'T DEDUCT PROBATE OTHER

Alabama X

Alaska X

Arizona

Arkansas

XXX

California

Colorado X1/

Connecticut X

Delaware X

District of Columbia X2/

Florida X

Georgia X

Hawaii X

Idaho X 3/

Illinois X

Indiana X

Iowa X

Kansas X

Kentucky X

Louisiana X

Maine X

Maryland X 4/

Massachusetts X

Michigan X

Minnesota X5/

Mississippi X

Missouri X

Montana X 6/

Nebraska X

Nevada X7/

New Hampshire X

New Jersey X

New Mexico X

New York X

North Carolina X 8/

North Dakota X9/

Ohio X

Oklahoma X 3/

Oregon

Pennsylvania

Puerto Rico

Rhode Island

XXX |[X X

South Carolina

South Dakota X

Tennessee

XX

Texas

Utah X




Vermont X

Virgin Islands X

Virginia X 10/
Washington X

West Virginia X7/

Wisconsin X

Wyoming X

1/ Severance pay is prorate to determine how long the claimant is still in pay status.

The maximum amount of benefits payable is reduced by the number of weeks of the
prorated severance payment, and payment of benefits is postponed until after the prorated
period has expired.

2/ Treated as a lump sum payment.

3/ Lump sum payment - deductible for the week the payment is received; periodic
payment — prorated to a weekly amount and deducted.

4/ If the position has been eliminated, there is no deduction for severance pay. If the
position has not been eliminated, the severance pay is prorated to a weekly amount and
deducted from the weekly benefit amount.

5/ Severance pay is deducted for 28 days following the last day of work. After the 28-
day period no deduction will be made.

6/ Attributed to the week in which separation occurred.
7/ Deducted the week it is received.
8/ Severance pay is considered wages and the severance payment amount is prorated

to determine how long the claimant is still in pay status.

9/ If the severance payment(s) is (are) paid before claim is filed, there is no deduction
on the claim. If severance pay is paid in one lump sum after claim is filed, the severance
payment is prorated to a weekly amount and deducted from each week’s Ul payment. If
severance payments are paid on a regular basis, the severance payment amount is
deducted from the UI weekly amount for the week in which the severance payment is paid.

10/  Separation pay or dismissal payments are deducted from the weekly benefit amount
at the time such payments are received but not more than 30 days after separation from
employment. After the 30-day period no deduction will be made. If the payment is a lump
sum payment, it is attributable to the last day of service. If monthly, or annually,
deductions will be made from each week claimed up to the 30-day limit.
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