Skip to page content
Office of Workers' Compensation Programs
Bookmark and Share

Division of Federal Employees' Compensation (DFEC)

Injury Compensation Specialist (ICS) Training Announcement

The Division of Federal Employees' Compensation (DFEC) has developed a comprehensive series of training modules for federal agency injury compensation specialists. These modules cover many aspects of the filing, adjudication and management of claims under the Federal Employees' Compensation Act (FECA). They may be used as a self-instructional resource for federal agency staff whose primary responsibilities involve the handling of FECA claims, in addition to the in-person ICS training courses conducted by DFEC district offices. Each module is followed by knowledge check questions to reinforce the information covered in the module. The ICS training modules may be accessed from DFEC's Federal Agency stakeholder page:

The following training modules are available:

  • FECA Overview
  • Types of Claims
  • Benefits Available
  • Basic Elements of a Claim
  • Filing for a Traumatic Injury
  • Continuation of Pay
  • Filing for an Occupational Disease
  • Filing for a Recurrence
  • Filing for Compensation
  • Filing for Death Benefits
  • Third Party Liability
  • Initial Claim Development
  • Initial Acceptance
  • Initial Denial
  • Development and Adjudication of Wage Loss Claims
  • Rescission of Claim
  • Medical Benefits
  • Case Management
  • Nurse Case Management
  • Vocational Rehabilitation
  • Return to Work
  • Periodic Roll Review
  • Suspensions, Reductions and Terminations
  • Appeal Rights and the Review Process
  • Initial Authorization of Medical Care
  • Submitting Requests for Prior Authorization
  • Submitting Medical Bills and Reimbursement Requests
  • Navigating the Bill Processing Portal
  • Agency Query System (AQS)
  • Claimant Query System (CQS)
  • Communicating with OWCP
  • Recordkeeping

April 01, 2016