Skip to page content
Office of Workers' Compensation Programs
Bookmark and Share

Office of Workers' Compensation Programs (OWCP)

ICD-10 Announcement

On October 1, 2015, on a schedule aligned with the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), the Office of Workers' Compensation Programs (OWCP) implemented the International Classification of Diseases, 10th Edition, Clinical Modification/Procedure Coding System (ICD-10-CM/PCS) code set. For services provided on, or after, October 1, 2015, OWCP will require all providers to use only the ICD-10 code sets. For services provided prior to October 1, 2015, only ICD-9 codes will be accepted. OWCP will not convert current claimant ICD-9 accepted conditions to ICD-10 codes. Claimants will only be given ICD-10 codes for accepted conditions filed on or after 10/1/2015. Providers should submit bills with an ICD-10 diagnosis code(s) that is reflective of the condition(s) being treated.

1500 Form Announcement

Effective March 1, 2014, We will accept paper bills submitted on the revised 1500 claim form (version 2/12) with ICD-9 codes.

NPI Number Announcement

Effective March 22, 2015, the Office of Worker's Compensation Programs (OWCP): Division of Federal Employees Compensation (DFEC) and Division of Energy Employees Occupational Illness Compensation (DEEOIC) will require the NPI number in Block J on the CMS 1500/OWCP 1500 form for all surgical procedure codes. If the NPI number is missing, the line will be denied. If multiple providers participated in the surgery, supporting documentation must be submitted.