Skip to page content
United States Department of Labor
Bookmark and Share

News Release

Please note: As of January 20, 2017, information in some news releases may be out of date or not reflect current policies.

WHD News Release: [06/13/2011]
Contact Name: Scott Allen or Rhonda Burke
Phone Number: (312) 353-6976 or x4807
Release Number: 11-0854-CHI

US Department of Labor to visit Michigan employers to share information about keeping teen workers safe

DETROIT — As thousands of teenagers begin summer jobs, the U.S. Department of Labor is sending representatives to visit employers throughout Michigan to raise awareness about workplace protections for young workers.

This initiative is part of the department's national YouthRules! public awareness campaign to educate young workers, parents, educators and employers about laws that affect workers under age 18.

Beginning this week, officials are stopping by with fact sheets on teen worker safety, reviewing federal laws related to youth employment, and sharing information about the hours young people may work and the jobs they may perform.

Visits are scheduled at workplaces in Bloomfield Township, Canton, Clawson, Eastpointe, Eaton Rapids, Elk Rapids, Grosse Pointe, Hazel Park, Hudsonville, Livonia, Lowell, Monroe, Montague, Northville, Oak Park, Paw Paw, Pontiac, Rockford, St. Joseph, Spring Lake, Saginaw, Utica, Westland, Wyandotte, Whitehall and Ypsilanti.

Under federal provisions, jobs that require working with paper balers, trash compactors, meat slicers, dough mixers and wood — working machines, as well as most driving activities, are designated as too dangerous for workers under 18.

For workers under age 16, hours, too, are restricted. From June 1 through Labor Day, 14- and 15-year-olds may not work before 7 a.m. or later than 9 p.m. (During the rest of the year, when schools typically are in session, workers ages 14 and 15 may not work before 7 a.m. or after 7 p.m. They may not work more than three hours on a school day or more than 18 hours in a school week.) They are allowed to work up to eight hours on a nonschool day and 40 hours in a nonschool week.

For more information about YouthRules!, call the Wage and Hour Division's toll-free helpline at 866-4US-WAGE (487-9243) Information is also available on the Internet at