Skip to page content
United States Department of Labor
Bookmark and Share

News Release

Please note: As of January 20, 2017, information in some news releases may be out of date or not reflect current policies.

ETA News Release: [06/30/2011]
Contact Name: Gloria Della or Clarisse Young
Phone Number: (202) 693-8666 or x5051
Release Number: 11-1006-KAN

US Department of Labor awards grant to assist Missouri residents with continued recovery efforts in Joplin and southern counties

WASHINGTON — The U.S. Department of Labor today announced a $13,964,651 National Emergency Grant supplemental award for the creation of temporary jobs to assist with ongoing clean up and recovery efforts after the tornado that devastated Joplin, Mo., as well as recovery efforts following flooding in the state's southern counties. The funds are being awarded to the Missouri Division of Workforce Development.

"The extent of the damage and destruction experienced by southern Missouri in this spring's severe weather is shocking," said Secretary of Labor Hilda L. Solis. "The Labor Department's grant is part of the federal government's commitment to help the people of Missouri rebuild their communities and their lives."

On May 9, the Federal Emergency Management Agency declared St. Louis County eligible for FEMA's Public Assistance Program, following severe storms, tornadoes and flooding that occurred on April 19. The declaration was subsequently amended twice to include additional counties.

On May 27, the Labor Department announced an initial National Emergency Grant for $5,822,352, also awarded to the Missouri Division of Workforce Development, for the same purpose.

The counties that have been targeted to receive assistance under this supplemental grant include Barry, Bollinger, Butler, Cape Girardeau, Carter, Christian, Douglas, Dunklin, Howell, Iron, Jasper, Madison, McDonald, Miller, Mississippi, New Madrid, Newton, Oregon, Ozark, Pemiscot, Perry, Pettis, Polk, Reynolds, Ripley, Saint Francois, Sainte Genevieve, Scott, Shannon, Stoddard, Stone, Taney, Texas, Washington, Wayne, Webster and Wright. Other counties may be added at a later date if further evaluation warrants their inclusion. More information on designated disaster areas in Missouri is available from FEMA at:

National Emergency Grants are part of the secretary of labor's discretionary fund and are awarded based on a state's ability to meet specific guidelines. For more information, visit