Skip to page content
United States Department of Labor
Bookmark and Share

News Release

Please note: As of January 20, 2017, information in some news releases may be out of date or not reflect current policies.

ETA News Release: [06/06/2011]
Contact Name: Gloria Della or Clarisse Young
Phone Number: (202) 693-8666 or x5051
Release Number: 11-0813-ATL

US Department of Labor grant to help Kentucky residents after severe storms by creating temporary jobs for cleanup, recovery efforts

WASHINGTON — The U.S. Department of Labor today announced a $4,276,514 National Emergency Grant to assist with cleanup and recovery efforts after severe storms, tornadoes and flooding struck Kentucky in April.

"People in Kentucky are still reeling from the devastation of recent storms," said Secretary of Labor Hilda L. Solis. "The department's grant will help affected communities as they begin cleanup and repair efforts."

The funds are being awarded to the Kentucky Education and Workforce Development Cabinet and will be used to create temporary jobs to assist in recovery efforts.

President Obama declared the commonwealth of Kentucky a disaster area. On May 4, the Federal Emergency Management Agency declared the following counties eligible for FEMA's Public Assistance Program: Anderson, Bath, Boone, Boyd, Bracken, Butler, Caldwell, Calloway, Campbell, Carroll, Carter, Clay, Edmonson, Elliott, Estill, Fleming, Franklin, Fulton, Gallatin, Grant, Graves, Green, Greenup, Harlan, Henry, Kenton, Lawrence, Lee, Lewis, Logan, Lyon, Mason, Mercer, Monroe, Morgan, Nicholas, Oldham, Owen, Owsley, Pendleton, Robertson, Spencer, Todd, Trigg, Trimble, Union and Washington. All of the counties under the declaration are targeted to receive assistance under this grant. More information on designated disaster areas in Kentucky is available from FEMA at

National Emergency Grants are part of the secretary of labor's discretionary fund and are awarded based on a state's ability to meet specific guidelines. For more information, visit