Skip to page content
United States Department of Labor
Bookmark and Share

News Release

Please note: As of January 20, 2017, information in some news releases may be out of date or not reflect current policies.

ETA News Release: [10/06/2009]
Contact Name: Michael Trupo or Lina Garcia
Phone Number: (202) 693-3414 or x4661
Release Number: 09-1214-NAT

U.S. Department of Labor provides nearly $775,000 to continue severe storm recovery efforts in Illinois

WASHINGTON — The U.S. Department of Labor has announced a $774,925 National Emergency Grant increment to support continued clean-up and recovery efforts in the wake of severe storms that occurred in Illinois in 2008.

"Parts of Illinois are still working to recover from destruction caused by severe storms in June 2008. This additional funding will allow temporary workers to stay on the job and further the process to a complete regional recovery," said Secretary of Labor Hilda L. Solis.

This final increment will be awarded to the Illinois Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity. Funds will be used to both continue existing temporary jobs and create 34 addition jobs to assist in the clean-up and recovery efforts as a result of the devastation caused by the storms.

On June 24, 2008, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) declared the following 13 counties in Illinois eligible for FEMA's Public Assistance Program: Adams, Calhoun, Clark, Coles, Crawford, Cumberland, Hancock, Henderson, Jasper, Lawrence, Mercer, Pike and Rock Island. The declaration was later amended to include the counties of Douglas, Edgar, Jersey, Lake, Madison, Monroe, Randolph, St. Clair and Winnebago.

On June 27, 2008, a grant in the amount of $3.5 million was awarded to the state, with $2 million released initially to create about 200 temporary jobs for eligible dislocated workers to assist in the clean-up and recovery efforts. On May 13, 2009, the grant was awarded an increment of $725,075.

National Emergency Grants are part of the secretary of labor's discretionary fund and are awarded based on a state's ability to meet specific guidelines. For more information, visit