Skip to page content
Secretary of Labor Thomas E. Perez

News Release

ETA News Release: [05/28/2009]
Contact Name: Jennifer Kaplan
Phone Number: (202) 693-5052
Release Number: 09-0584-SEA

U.S. Labor Department announces release of $32.3 million in unemployment insurance modernization incentive funds to Idaho

WASHINGTON — The U.S. Department of Labor has certified for release $32,260,831 in unemployment insurance (UI) modernization incentive funds to the state of Idaho. Idaho qualified for the funds available under the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (Recovery Act) by providing for a variety of provisions that assist recent entrants to the workforce, part time workers and people who are upgrading their skills. Idaho's approved application will be posted at the department's Employment and Training Administration Web site at

"Idaho has made important updates to its UI program to better meet the needs of the 21st century workforce," said Secretary of Labor Hilda L. Solis. "The UI modernization provisions adopted in Idaho help unemployed workers who have entered the workforce recently, work part time or need training to become re-employed receive the benefits they deserve."

The Idaho Department of Labor can use the funds to pay unemployment benefits or, if appropriated by the legislature, for administering its unemployment insurance program or delivering employment services.

"I am pleased to make these additional funds available to folks who have been especially hard hit," said Gov. C.L. "Butch" Otter. "These one-time dollars give Idaho families the temporary assistance they need to help themselves through these challenging economic times."

The Recovery Act made a total of $7 billion available in UI modernization incentive payments to states that include certain eligibility provisions in their UI programs. Each state can qualify for a share of those funds by showing that its law includes those provisions. To date, in addition to Idaho, Connecticut, Minnesota and New Jersey have been certified by the Labor Department to receive their full shares of the funds. Hawaii, Illinois, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, South Dakota, Vermont and Virginia have been certified to receive one-third of their shares.