Skip to page content
United States Department of Labor
Bookmark and Share

News Release

US Labor Department seeks nominations for members for
newly created Workforce Information Advisory Council

Nominations due by October 6, 2015

WASHINGTON — The U.S. Department of Labor is seeking nominations for members of the new Workforce Information Advisory Council. The council is being established as required by the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act, enacted on July 22, 2014.

The council will provide recommendations to the Secretary of Labor to address the evaluation and improvement of federal and state workforce and labor market information systems, and how the department and the states will cooperate in the management of those systems.

The 14-member WIAC will include:

  • Four state workforce information or labor market information directors.
  • Four state workforce agency administrators.
  • One member representing each of the following constituent groups;
    • Business
    • Economic Development
    • Labor Organizations
    • WIOA Title I training providers
    • Local workforce development boards
    • University or research entities

For consideration, nominations must be received by October 6, 2015.

Geographic diversity requirements do not permit any two of the members representing state and local workforce boards to come from the same state.

More information about WIAC and how to submit nominations is available in the Federal Register Notice as well at

ETA News Release: [08/10/2015]
Contact Name: Jason Kuruvilla
Phone Number: (202) 693-6587
Release Number: 15-1369-NAT