Skip to page content
United States Department of Labor
Bookmark and Share

News Release

EBSA News Release: [01/29/2010]
Contact Name: Gloria Della
Phone Number: (202) 693-8664
Release Number: 10-0109-NAT

US Secretary of Labor Hilda L. Solis announces new appointments and leadership to 2010 ERISA Advisory Council

WASHINGTON — Secretary of Labor Hilda L. Solis today announced the appointment of five new members and new leadership to the 2010 Advisory Council on Employee Welfare and Pension Benefit Plans, also known as the ERISA Advisory Council.

"We appreciate the council members' contribution of time and expertise in working on issues that affect the retirement and health benefits of America's workers," said Secretary Solis.

The 15-member council provides advice on policies and regulations affecting employee benefit plans governed by the Employee Retirement Income Security Act (ERISA). To ensure continuity within the committee, members serve for staggered three-year terms.

Marc LeBlanc and Theda R. Haber, respectively, will serve as chair and vice-chair of the council. The newly appointed members and the expertise they represent are:

Actuarial Counseling
Anna Rappaport founded Anna Rappaport Consulting in Chicago, Ill., after retiring as a worldwide partner at Mercer Human Resource Consulting.

Denise M. Clark is the founder of the Denise M. Clark PLLC law firm in Washington, D.C.

Investment Counseling
Michael A. Sasso is a principal and co-founder of Portfolio Evaluations Inc. in Warren, N.J.

John M. Towarnicky is the associate vice president for benefits planning of Nationwide Mutual Insurance Co. in Westerville, Ohio.

General Public
Mildeen G. Worrell from Chevy Chase, Md., was formerly the benefits tax counsel to the House of Representatives Ways and Means Committee staff.