Skip to page content
United States Department of Labor
Bookmark and Share

News Release

Please note: As of January 20, 2017, information in some news releases may be out of date or not reflect current policies.

ETA News Release: [09/27/2010]
Contact Name: Michael Trupo or Lina Garcia
Phone Number: (202) 693-3414 or x6133
Release Number: 10-1326-KAN

US Department of Labor provides $5.8 million to assist recovery efforts in Iowa

WASHINGTON — The U.S. Department of Labor has announced a $5.8 million National Emergency Grant award to assist cleanup and recovery efforts in the wake of severe storms, flooding, and tornadoes that struck Iowa in June.

"Severe storms inflicted widespread damage across the state of Iowa throughout June, and families and businesses need our support," said Secretary of Labor Hilda L. Solis. "Today's grant will help these citizens cleanup and repair their affected communities."

Awarded to Iowa Workforce Development, these funds will be used to create temporary jobs to assist in the recovery efforts as a result of the damage caused by the severe storms, flooding and tornadoes.

Between July 29 and August 23, the Federal Emergency Management Agency declared a total of 57 Iowa counties eligible for that agency's Public Assistance Program: Adams, Appanoose, Audubon, Black Hawk, Boone, Buchanan, Buena Vista, Butler, Calhoun, Cherokee, Clarke, Clay, Clayton, Dallas, Davis, Decatur, Delaware, Dickinson, Dubuque, Emmet, Fayette, Franklin, Guthrie, Hamilton, Howard, Humboldt, Ida, Iowa, Jackson, Jasper, Jones, Keokuk, Lee, Lucas, Lyon, Madison, Mahaska, Marion, Mills, Monroe, Montgomery, O'Brien, Osceola, Palo Alto, Polk, Ringgold, Shelby, Sioux, Story, Union, Van Buren, Wapello, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Webster and Wright.

Of the $5.8 million announced today, $2 million will be released initially. Additional funding up to the amount approved will be made available as the state demonstrates a continued need for assistance.

National Emergency Grants are part of the secretary of labor's discretionary fund and are awarded based on a state's ability to meet specific guidelines. For more information, visit