Skip to page content
Secretary of Labor Thomas E. Perez
Bookmark and Share

News Release

Archived News Release — Caution: Information may be out of date.

ESA News Release: [02/24/2005]
Contact Name: Dolline Hatchet
Phone Number: 202-693-4650
Release Number: 05-0301-NAT

The Department of Labor Announces EEOICPA Ombudsman Appointment

WASHINGTON—The U.S. Department of Labor today announced the appointment of Donald G. Shalhoub as the first Ombudsman of the compensation program created by new Part E of the Energy Employees Occupational Illness Compensation Program Act (EEOICPA).

The Fiscal Year 2005 Defense Authorization Act created a system of federal payments to be administered by the Department of Labor (DOL). The payments compensate nuclear workers for occupational illnesses caused by exposure to toxic substances while working as a contractor or subcontractor employee at a Department of Energy (DOE) facility. This replaced a previous program administered by DOE that provided assistance in obtaining state workers compensation payments.

Under the new legislation, the Office of the Ombudsman, required to be maintained for a period of three years from enactment of the new legislation, will provide information to claimants, potential claimants, and other interested parties on the benefits available under the new legislation and how to obtain those benefits. Annually, the Ombudsman will issue a report to Congress concerning complaints, grievances and requests for assistance received that year. Congress also required that the Secretary of Labor ensure the independence of the Office of the Ombudsman from the program office that administers the EEOICPA.

Shalhoub, a career government attorney, most recently served as deputy associate solicitor for civil rights in DOL's Office of the Solicitor. Prior to that, he served as the deputy associate solicitor in the division that provided legal services to the Occupational Safety and Health Administration. Shalhoub has an L.L.M. from the Georgetown University Law Center, a J.D. from Loyola University School of Law and an A.B. from St. Peter's College.


# # #


Archived News Release — Caution: Information may be out of date.