Skip to page content
Office of Labor-Management Standards
Bookmark and Share

Office of Labor-Management Standards (OLMS)

U.S. Department of Labor
Office of Labor-Management Standards
Los Angeles District Office
915 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 910
Los Angeles, CA 90017
(213) 534-6405 Fax: (213) 534-6413




November 10, 2010

Ms. Misty Dyson-Ivy, Secretary Treasurer
Association of Western Pulp & Paper Workers
1801 N. Raymond Ave.
Anaheim, CA 92801 Case Number: ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
LM Number: 063495

Dear Ms. Dyson-Ivy:

This office has recently completed an audit of Association of Western Pulp & Paper Workers under the Compliance Audit Program (CAP) to determine your organization’s compliance with the provisions of the Labor-Management Reporting and Disclosure Act of 1959 (LMRDA). As discussed during the exit interview with Secretary Treasurer Misty Dyson-Ivy on November 5, 2010, the following problems were disclosed during the CAP. The matters listed below are not an exhaustive list of all possible problem areas since the audit conducted was limited in scope.

Reporting Violations

Failure to file Bylaws

The audit disclosed a violation of LMRDA Section 201(a), which requires that a union submit a copy of its revised constitution or bylaws with its LM report when it makes changes to its constitution or bylaws. AWPPW Local 672 amended its constitution and bylaws in 2004 but failed to file a copy with its LM report for that year. Local 672’s constitution and bylaws were subsequently obtained during the course of the audit.

The Investigator wants to extend his personal appreciation to Association of Western Pulp & Paper Workers Local 672 for the cooperation and courtesy extended during this compliance audit. I strongly recommend that you make sure this letter and the compliance assistance materials provided to you are passed on to future officers. If we can provide any additional assistance, please do not hesitate to call.



|||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||
Supervisory Investigator

cc: Mr. John Stegall, President